BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

HEIDI L. OIEN

R ol S, Sy

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
CLASS CA COSMETOLOGY OPERATOR LICENSE TO
HEIDI L. OIEN

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY CLASS CA COSMETOLOGY
OPERATOR LICENSE, Licel_lsc No. 2014012047, to Heidi L. Oien (hereafter, Oien), pursuant
to the provisions of § 324.038, RSNIO.I As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Oien may submit a
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the
Board’s decision to issue a probated operator license. Such written request must be filed with
the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of
the Board. The written request should be addressed to the Admixﬁstrative Hearing Commission,
P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-
day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Qien file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall

remain in force and effect unless or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission

issues an Order to the contrary:

' All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



I
Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Oten currently resides at 29 Coach Drive, St. Peters, Missouri.

LS

On or about January 9, 2014, Oien applied by reciprocity for a Class CA
cosmetology operator license.

4, Oien holds a Kansas Cosmetologist operator license, license number 12517. The
Kansas Board of Cosmetology issued Oien’s Kansas license on or about November 15, 2005.
Oien’s Kansas license expires November 30, 2015.

5. On or about November 8, 2011, the Kansas Board of Cosmetology issued a
Summary Proceeding Order Assessing Fine against Oien (f/k/a Heidi Garraway) as a result of
Oien operating a Kansas cosmetology establishment without a current and active establishment
license and providing services without a current and active establishment license. The Kansas
Board assessed a fine in the amount of $250 against Oien and her co-respondent.

6. Section 329.030, RSMo, states, in relevant part:

It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the
occupation of cosmetology or to operate an establishment or

school of cosmetology, unless such person has first obtained a
license as provided by this chapter.



7. Regulation 20 CSR 2085-7.040(2)(C) states:

Any licensee who fails to renew shall not perform or.offer to
perform any act for which a license is required. '

Il

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority,
permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any
combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board
shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall
advise the applicant of the applicant's right to file a complaint with the
administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

9. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Oien’s application for a cosmetology

operator license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commisstion as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this
chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the
person's certificate of registration or authority, permit or license for any one
or any combination of the following causes:

(8) Disciplinary action against the holder of a license or other right
to practice any profession regulated by this chapter granted by
another state, territory, federal agency or country upon grounds for
which revocation or suspension is authorized in this state[.]

10.  Asa result of Oien’s conduct as stated in paragraphs 3 through 5 above, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Oien’s application for a cosmetology operator license pursuant to

§§ 329.140.1 and 329.140.2(8), RSMo, in that Oien was disciplined by the Kansas Board of



Cosmetology as a result of operating and offering services without a valid establishment license,
for which the Board has cause to deny Qien’s application for a Class CA cosmetology operator
license.

11. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

12 The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Oien’s application for a Class CA
cosmetology operator license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

[11.
ORDER

13. Based on the foregoing, Heidi Oien is granted a Class CA cosmetology operator
license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period three (3) years, subject to the
- terms and conditions set forth below.

v.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

14, During the aforementioned probation, Oien shall be entitled to a class CA
cosmetology operator license subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. Duning the disciplinary period, Oien shall comply with all provisions of Chapter 329,
RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws, rules
and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes the
state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the ordinances
of their political subdivisions.



. During the disciplinary period, Oien shall keep the Board informed of her current work
and home telephone numbers. Oien shall notify the Board in wnung within ten days (10)
of any change in this information.

. During the probationary period, Oien shall timely renew her class CA cosmetology
operator license granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and
comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current
and active state.

. During the probationary period, Oien shall accept and comply with unannounced visits
from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and conditions of
this Order.

. During the disciplinary period, Oien shall appear in person for interviews with the Board
or 1is designee upon request.

. Oien shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July | during
each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been compliance
with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be received by the
Board on or before January 1, 2015.

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Oien changes her address from the state of
Missouri, or ceases to maintain her class CA cosmetology operator license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missoun State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102. '

Any failure by Oien to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.



15. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Respondent of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 324
and 329, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

- 16.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE TH]S’& DAY OF APRIL, 2014.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

e Cagend |

Emily R. C&froll, Executive Director




