BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

NEW BEGINNINGS,
STACY PERRY, owner,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY CROSSOVER ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
NEW BEGINNINGS, STACY PERRY, OWNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board™)
hereby issucs its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY CROSSOVER ESTABLISHMENT
LICENSE, License No. 2012032821, to New Beginnings, Stacy Perry, owner (hereafter,
“Licensee”), pursuant 1o the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo." As set forth in  §324.038.2,
RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission
seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license. Such written
request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or
mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed 10 the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 15337, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. 1f no written request for review is filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within the 30-day period. the right to seek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a writien requesi for review of this Order, the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time

as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order 1o the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

I The Beard is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has com;ol and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Licensee i1s a licensed as a cosmetology operator, license number 20001494 1_0.
Licensee’s cosmetology operator license was at all times relevant herein, and is now current and
active.

3. On or about Apnl 19, 2012, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Registration with the Board seeking licensure as a master, commercial cosmetology and barber
establishmenth under the name of New Beginnings, Stacy Perry, owner, 1o be located at 1284 St,
Cyr., St. Louis, Missouri 63137. The Board received the initial application on April 19, 2012.

4. On or about Oclober 28, 2011, the Board inspected New Beginnings. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensec was presént and offering
cosmetology services without an establishment license 1n violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2083-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo. On or aboui November 22, 2011, the Board sent a
violation notice to Licensee at New Beginnings.

3. On or about December 1, 2011, the Board inspected lNew Beginnings. The Board

inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering

" All statutory references arc to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended, unless otherwise
indicated.



cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo.
IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuani io this chapter for onc or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusai and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant’s right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as
provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

7. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 4 through 5 herein, the Board

has cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a cosmetology establishment license

pursuant to § 329.140.2(6). RSMo, which provides:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed 1o renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter;]|.]

3. Regulation 20 CSR 2085-10.010 states, in retevant part:

(1)(A) Except as provided herein, any person desiring to open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missouri, whether a beauty shop, nail salon.
other cosmetology establishment, shall submit an application to the board
at lzast thiny (30) days prior to the anticipated opening of the
establishment. The establishment license application shall be submitied
on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the biennial
cstablishment fee, and including the following information([. |

e



10. Regulation 20 CSR 2085-10.060 states, in relevant part: °

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 29, RSMo, no barber or cosmetoiogy

establishment owner, manager, or proprietor shall permit any person who does not
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosmetologist in the establishment. No license or permit issued by the board shall
be posted in a licensed establishment unless the license or permit is current and
active, and the licensee or permit holder is an employee of the establishment or
holds a current an active renter establishment license issued by the board.

11, Section 329.030, RSMo, states:
It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the occupation of
cosmetology or to operate an establishment or schoo! of cosmetology, unless such
person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter.
12, As aresult of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 4 through 5 herein, the
Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo.
13.  As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
1ssue a license subject 10 probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:
Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional
registration, including the division itsell when so empowered, may refuse
to issue a license for rcasons which also serve as a basis for filing a
complaint with the administrative hearing commission sccking
disciplinary action against a holder of license, the board, as an alternative
to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a
license subject to probation.

14.  The Board issues this Order in liev of denial of Licensee’s application for a

cosmetology establishment license.  The Board has determined that this Order is

neceessary 10 ensure the protection of the public.

{1

ORDER TERMS AND CONDITIONS




15. Based on the foregoing, New Beginnings, Stacy Perry, owner, is granted a
crossover establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of
THREE (3) YEARS from the effeciive date of this Order. During the aforementioned
probation, Licensee shall be entitled to operate as a crossover establishment subjeci to the
following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
328 and 329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state
drug laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and staie criminal laws.
“State” includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United
States, and the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home telephone. numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10} of any change in this inforimation.

C. During the probationary period, Licensee shall umely renew Licensee’s cosmetology
operator and establishment licenses and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure
and comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a
current and active state.

D. During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

=. During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for mterviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

F. Licensee shall submit writien reports to the Board on or before January | and July |
during cach year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2013,

G. If, at any time during the probationary peried, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensce’s
licenses current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep
the Board advised of all current places of business and residence, the time of such
absence. unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed
or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures

h



afforded it and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate lcgal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations identified herein.

I. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seck 1o
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph

without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as
required by Missouri law.

J. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shail be forwarded to: Missouri State

Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102,

K. Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a viclation of this Order.

16.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 328,
329 or 324, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

17. The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 328. 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 18th DAY OF September 2012.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Gy, © o p el

Emily R. Gﬁrro“, Executive Director




