BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of )
)

STACEY KAY MINOR, )
)

Applicant. )

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO STACEY KAY MINOR

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby issues its
ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE, License No.
2016008471 to Stacey Kay Minor (“Minor” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038,
RSMo." As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Minor may submit a written request to the Administrative
Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated student
license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing
Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered

waived. Should Minor file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this

Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing

‘Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.




L

FINDINGS OF FACT

Ii The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant to §
329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of b'arber'mg and
cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations and
enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2 On or about March 7, 2016, Minor applied for a Missouri cosmetology student license to
enroll at Salem College of Hairstyling, 1051 Kingshighway, Suite #1, Rolla, Missouri.

% On her application, Minor answered “yes” to the question “Have you been finally
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution in
this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, In conjunction with her March 7, 2016 application, Minor provided an explanation of her
. criminal history. In her explanation, Minor stated that in January of 2015, she was involved in an
“incident” with her aunt that resulted in a felony charge against Minor. She noted that she is not a violent
person and asserted that she acted in “self-defense.” She noted further that she regrets her actions and lets
forward to the opportunity for a career in cosmetology.

5 A review of Minor’s criminal history revealed that on or about February 4, 2015, Minor
pled guilty to the class C felony of Domestic Assault — 2" Degree, in the circuit court of Pulaski County,
case number 15PU-CR00006-01. The Court suspended the imposition of sentence and ordered Minor
complete 40 hours of community service and placed Minor on 5 years’ supervised probation.

1L

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to §
329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes stated in




subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons
for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to file a complaint with the
administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

The Board has cause to deny or refuse Minor’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant to
§ 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license
required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of
guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws of any state or
of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications,
functions or duties of any profession licensed or regulated under this chapter, for
any offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or an act of
violence, or for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is
imposed|.]

7. As a result of Minor’s criminal history as detailed in paragraph 5, the Board has cause to
~deny or refuse Minor’s appliéation for a cosmetology student license pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and

§ 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

8. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion, issue a
license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative hearing

commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the board, as an

alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a

license subject to probation.

Q. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Minor’s application for a cosmetology

student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure the protection of the

public.



III.
ORDER

11. Based on the foregoing, Stacey Kay Minor is granted a cosmetology student license,

which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in cosmetology

school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective date of this Order.

During the aforementioned probation, Stacey Kay Minor shall be entitled to enroll as a cosmetology

student subject to the following terms and conditions.

V.
TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12. During the aforementioned probation, Stacey Kay Minor, shall be entitled to enroll as a

cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo,
all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws, rules and regulations
and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes the state of Missouri, all other
states and territories of the United States, and the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s current
work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing within ten days
(10) of any change in this information. :

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced visits from
the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the Board or
its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1 during each
year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been compliance with all
terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be received by the Board on or
before July 1, 2016.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address from the
state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or active under the
provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of all current places of
residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall
not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of this
Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend this Order or
impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the Board. No order shall be



entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any required notice and opportunity for a
hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter 536, RSMo.

H. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other materials
required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State Board of
Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102.

I.  Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein constitutes a
violation of this Order.

13. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the regulations
promulgated thereunder.

14. The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE TH]Si\& DAY OFNKQ\U 2016.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Gl N el §

Emily R. Qarroll, Executive Director




