BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

[n the Matter of the Application of

MEDUSA SALON,
AMANDA PARRA, owner,

Mgt N Nt N N N

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
MEDUSA SALON, AMANDA PARRA, OWNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE, License No. 2012016582, to Medusa Salon, Amanda Pamra,
owner (hereafter, “Licensee”), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in
§324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submit a wrilten request to the Administrative Hearing
Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license.
Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written reguest for review is filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a written request for review of this Ordet. the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or uvatil such time

as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:
I.

FINDINGS OF FACT

N B The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant

to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
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~and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of ihe licensed occupations

and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Licensee is a licensed as a cosmetology operator, license number 2001029763.
licensee’s cosmetology operator license was at all times relevant herein, and is now current and
active,

3. On or about March 30, 2012, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Registration with the Boad seeking licensure as a rental, commercial cosmetology
establishmenth under the name of Medusa Salon, Amanda Parra, owner, to be located at 115 East
Gregory Blvd, Kansas City, Missouri 64114. The Board received the initial application on
March 30, 2012,

4, On or about January 18, 2012, the Board inspected Medusa Salon. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering
cosinelology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo. On or about February 1, 2012, the Board sent a
violation notice to Licensee at Medusa Salon.

5. On or about February 21, 2012, the Board inspected Medusa Salon. The Board

inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering

' All statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended, unless otherwise
indicated.




cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo.

6. On or about March 21, 2012, the Board sent a settlement agreement certified mai!
to Licensee at Medusa Salon. Licensee did not return the settlement agreement.

I1.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW e e

7. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant's right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as
provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

8. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 3 through 6 herein, the Board

has cause to deny or refuse Licensee's application for a cosmetology establishment license

pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo, which provides:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

{6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter;[.]

9. Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.010 states, in relevant part:

(1)(A) Except as provided herein, any person desiring to open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missouri, whether a beauty shop, nail salon,
other cosmetology establishment, shall submit an application to the board
at least thirty (30) days prior to the unticipated opening of the




10.
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establishment. The establishment license application shall be submitted
on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the biennial
establishment fee, and including the following information[.]

Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.060 states, in relevant part:

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 29, RSMo, no barber or cosmetology
establishment owner, manager, or proprietor shall permit any person who does not
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosmetologist in the establishment. No license or permit issued by the board shall
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be posted in a licensed establiShment unless the HCense or permil 1§ current and
active, and the licensee or permit holder is an employee of the establishment or
holds a current an active renter establishment license issued by the board.

Section 329.00, RSMo, states, in relevant part:
It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the occupation of
cosimetology or to operate an establishment or school of cosmetology, unless such

person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter.

As a result of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 3 through 6 herein, the

Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo.

13.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038 RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional
registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse
to issue a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a
complaint with the administrative hearing commission seeking
disciplinary action against a holder of license, the board, as an alternative
to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a
license subject to probation.

14, The Board issues this Order in lien of denial of Licensee’s application for a

cosmetology establishment license. The Board has determined that this Order is

necessary (o ensure the protection of the public.
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TERMS AND CONDITIONS

i5. Based on the foregoing, Medusa Salon, Amanda Parra, owner, is granted a
cosmetology establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of

THREE (3) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned

probation, Licensee shall be entitled (G operaie as a cosmelology establishment subject 10 the
following terms and conditions:

A, During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with al} provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State®
includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and
the ordinances of their political subdivisions,

B. During the disciplinary period, Licensce shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

C. During the probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensee’s cosmetology
operator and establishment licenses and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure
and comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a
current and active state,

D. During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

E. During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

F. Licensee shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July |
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012,

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensee‘s
licenses current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep
the Board advised of all current places of business and residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed
or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.




H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures
afforded it and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations identified herein.

1. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has ocourred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph

without any required nofice and Opporiunily [oT & HEANNE BEfora The BOard =ag—"=r=r="
required by Missouri law.

). Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitied to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102,

K. Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

16.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any viclation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 329 or
324, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

I7.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS D\ _ DAY OFM% 2012,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

NP TR

Emily R. Ca&oll, Executive Director




