BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

MEDUSA SALON,
GILLIAN SCHMIDT, owner,

Applicamt.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
MEDUSA SALON, GILLIAN SCHMIDT, OWNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board”)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE, License No. 2012016581, to Medusa Salon, Gillian Schmidt,
owner (hereafler, “Licenseg”), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in
§324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing
Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license.
Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1357, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no wrilten request for review is filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a written request for review of this Order, the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time

as the Administrative Fearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary,




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:
L

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant

to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering

and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Licensee is a licensed as a cosmetology operator, license number 2007011652,
Licensee’s cosmetology operator license was at all times relevént herein, and is now current and
active.

3. On or about March 30, 2012, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Regi'stralion with the Board seeking licensure as a rental, commercial cosmetology establishment
under the name of Medusa Salon, Gillian .Schmidt, owner, o be located at 115 East Gregory
Blvd, Kansas City, Missouri 64114, The Boafd received the initial application on March 30,
2012.

4, On or about January 18, 2012, the Board inspected Medusa Salon. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering
cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo. On or about February 1, 2012, the Board sent a
violation notice to Licensee at Medusa Salon.

5. On or about February 21, 2012, the Board inspected Medusa Salon. The Board

inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was not present but was offering

' Al statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Misscuri, as amended, uniess otherwise
indicated,




cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo.

6. On or about March 21, 2012, the Board sent a settlement agreement by certified
mail to Licensee at Medusa Salon, Licensee did not return the agreement.

1L

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

7. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuvant 1o this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant's right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as
provided by chapter 621, RSMo, :

8. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 3 through 6 herein, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a cosmetology establishment license

pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo, which provides:

2. The board may cause a complaint 10 be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant o this chapter;{.]

9. Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.010 states, in relevant part:

(1)(A) Except as provided herein, any person desiring to open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missouri, whether a beauty shop, nail salon,
other cosmetology establishment, shall submit an application to the board
al feast thirty (30) days prior to the anticipated opening of the

Ll




establishment. The establishment license application shall be submitted
on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the biennial
establishment fee, and including the following informationf.]

10. Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.060 states, in relevant part:

e T o

(1} Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo, no barber or cosmetology
establishiment owner, manager, or proprietor shall permit any person who does not
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosinetologist in the establishment. No license or permit issued by the board shall

Il

12, As aresult of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 3 through 6 herein, the
Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo.

13.

"7 "be posted in a licensed establishment unless the license oF permil is current-and-
active, and the licensee or permit holder is an employee of the establishment or

holds a current an active renter establishment license issued by the board.

Section 329.030, RSMo, states, in relevant part:
It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the occupation of

cosmetology or to operate an establishment or school of cosmetology, unless such
person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

14.

cosmelology establishment license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional
registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse
to issue a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a
complaint with the administrative hearing commission seeking
disciplinary action against a holder of license, the board, as an allernative
to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a
license subject to probation.

The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Licensee’s application for a

ensure the protection of the public.
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15.

Il

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Based on the foregoing, Medusa Salon, Gillian Schmidt, owner, is granted a

cosmetology establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of

THREE (3) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned

probation, Licensee shall be entitled to operafe as a cosmetology establisRment subject G the

following terms and conditions:

A.

F.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State”
includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and
the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Licensee shail timely renew Licensee’s cosmelology
operator and establishment license and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure
and comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said licenses in a
current and active slate.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its desighee upon request.

Licensee shall submit written reporis to the Board on or before January | and July |
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfufly whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012, )

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensee®s

licenses current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep
the Board advised of ali current places of business and residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed
or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary periad.




H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures
afforded it and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations identified herein.

[.  The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph

without any required notice and opporiunily for & heating before (he Board ag ==
required by Missouri law.

J. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102,

K. Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

16.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 329 or
324, RSMo, or the regulations promuigated thereunder.

17. The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS D\ DAY OFN% 2012.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

s RQ0 2o

Emily R. Cgfroll, Executive Director




