BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD'
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

'~ In the Matter of the Application of

WILLIAM D. MAY,

L A . S

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY -
BARBER STUDENT LICENSE TO WILLIAM D. MAY

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and iBa.rbé:r Examiners (the “Board;’) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROﬁATIONARY BARBER STUDENT LICENSE, License
No. 2014012546 to William D. May (“May” or “Applicant”), purs@t to the provisions of §
324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in §.324.038.2, RSMo, May-may subtnit a w;ittcn request to the
Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a.hearing and review oflth'é Board’s decision to
issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative
"Hearing ComhnjssiOD within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request should be addresséd to the Administrative Hearing Commission; P.O. Box 1557,
Tr-uman State Office Building, Room 646, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request

for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should May file a

written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in
force and effect-uniess and/or Lu_:{til such time as the Admimistrative Hearing Commission issues

. an QOrder to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board —hereby states:



L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

l. The Board is an agency of the sta-te of Missouri created and established pursuant
to §- 329.0135, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practic-e of barbering -
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supcrvis‘ion of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the ter@ and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo. o

2. On or about Man;h 5, 2014, May applied for a Missourt barber student license to
enroll at Eclips School of Cosmetology & éarbering, 52 8. Plaza Way, Cape Girardeau,
Missouri. |

3 On his application, May answered “yes” to the question “In the last ten (10) years
have‘you been adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of gﬁjlt)' or nolo contendere, in a
cnmmal prosccufion under the. laws of this state or any other state or of the United Statés,
whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. With his March 5, 2014 ap]‘)lication,'May provided an explanation of his criminal
history. In his explanation, May stated that he was charged with possession of a stolen firearm
and 1t was dismissed and that he was -charged with burglary, got 36 months’ érobation, az-Jd that
all fines were paid- in full. He stated he learmed from his mistakes and is tryiné to better himself.

| 5. Follov»fmg a March 13, 2014 request from the Board, May -provi-dcd a more
specific statement reéarding his criminal history. May stated that on April 21, 2013, he ‘was
c_harged with possession of a stolen firearm and burglary, th_eft over $500. He stated the -
: possession of a stolen firearm charge was dismissed and he pled guiity to burglary and theft. He

stated he was sentenced fo 36 mionths’ probation and a fine in the amount of $6,394.27 which he

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Staiutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



has paid in full. He stated he has not had any probation violations and 'has “learned my lesson
-and am turping my life around for.me and my cbi!d.” |
6. A review of May’s Missouri criminal history reveals that on or about Apl‘ll 21,
2013, May pted guilty to the Class 2 Felony of Burglary and the Class 3 Felony of Theft over
$500 and less. ‘than $10,000 in the Circuit Coprt of Alexander lCounw, [llinois, case number
2013CF38. The Court sentenced May to 36_monthé’ probation on the Burglary charge and 30
months’ probation on the Theft charge, to l?e served wncunér;tly.

IE

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW-
7. The Board has authorit}; to deny or .refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 328.150.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

8. The Board has cause to cieny or refuse May’s appﬁcation for a barber student

license pursuant to § 328.150.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following.causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or-
regulated under this chapter,-for any offense an essential element of which



1s fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed[.]

9. As a result of May’s pleas of guilty as detailéd in paragraph 6 above, the Board
“has cause to deny or refuse May’s apphcanon for a barber student license pursuant to
§ 328.150.1, RSMO and § 328.150.2(2), RSMO

10.  As ap alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which providegz

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
heaning commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

‘11, The Boarc{ issues this Order in lieu of denial ofl May’s application for a barber
student license. The Board has determined that this érder is necessary to ensure the protection
of the public. |

‘ _ L.
ORDER_

12.  Based on the forego;ng, William D. May is grz;nted a barber-student hce.nse
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which he is enrolled in barber
school and 'receiving training hours, not to exceed ﬁve (5) years from the effective date of this
Order. Dur'mg the aforemcntione;-ci probation, Will'ja.m D. May shall be enFitled toenroll as a
barber student subjégt to ttllc following terms and conditions.

Iv.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

13, During the aforementloned probahon William D. May, shall be entitled to em"oll

asa barber student subject to the followmg terms and conditions:



. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
328, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and ferritories- of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdmsmns

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

. During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted bereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its demgnee upon request.

. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1 .
dunng each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2015,

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter-328,.RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of -
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
. probationary period.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without.any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall- be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, chferson City, Missour
65102.



J. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

14.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it

concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 328,

RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.
15, The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 328, 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THISA O DAY OF APRIL 2014.

MISSOQURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily Carroll,\Executive Director




