BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

MODA,
IVY MILLER, owner,

Applicant,

T oI T

y o o ik e ey N S S L et

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
MODA, IVY MILLER, OWNER

The Missouti State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board™)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE, License No. 2012016583, to MODA, lvy Miller, owner
(hereafler, “Licensee™), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in
§324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submif a written request to the Administrative Hearing
Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license.
Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.Q. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to scek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a writien request for review of this Qrder, the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time

as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:
L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant

to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering

and cosmetology n this statc. | he Board has control and Supervision of tHE licensed oceupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2, Licensee is a licensed as a cosmetologist, license number 2005015663.
Licensee’s cosmetology operator license was not at all times current and active. Licensee’s
operator license is now current and active as of March 14, 2012,

3. On or about April 2, 2012, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Registration with the Board seeking licensure as a rental, commercial cosmetology establishment
under the name of MODA, Tvy Miller, owner, to be located at 317 South Ave, Springlield,
Missouri 65806. The Board received the initiat application on April 2, 2012. The Board rejected
the application because it did not have all the required documents.

4, On or about December 29, 2011, the Board inspected MODA. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues, Licensee was present and offering
cosmetology services withoul an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085:10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo and Licensee’s cosmetology operator license was not
current due o non-renewal in violation of 20 CSR 2085-7.050. On or about January 23, 2012,

the Board senl a violation notice to Licensee at MODA.

' All statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended, unless otherwise
indicated.
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5. On or about January 26, 2012, the Board inspected MODA. The Board inspector
discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering cosmetology
services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-
10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo and Licensee’s cosmetology operator license was not current due

to non-renewal in violation of 20 CSR 2085-7.050.

. On or about March 27, 20172 e Board Sent a seltlement agreement cerified mail
to Licensee at MODA. Licensee did not return the settlement agreement.
7. On or about April 18, 2012, the Board inspected MODA. The Board inspector
discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering cosmetology
services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-
10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo.
1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant’s right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as
provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

9, As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 3 through 7 herein, the Board

has cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a cosmetclogy establishment license
y p 4

pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo, which provide:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any centificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person




who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person 1o violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter,

10.  Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.010 states, in relevant part:

{D(A) Except as provided herein, any person desiring to open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missouri, whether a beauty shop, nail salon,
other cosmetology establishinent, shall submit an application to the board
at least thinty (30) days prior to the anticipated opening of the
establishment. The establishment license application shall be submitted
on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the biennial
establishmen fee, and including the following information:{.]

10, Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.060 states, in relevant part;

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 29, RSMo, no barber or cosmetology
establishment owner, manager, or proprietor shall permit any person who does nat
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosmetologist in the establishment. No license or permit issued by the board shali
be posted in a licensed establishment unless the license or permit is current and
active, and the licensee or permit holder is an employee of the establishment or
holds a current an active renter establishment license issued by the board,

11.  Section 329.00, RSMo, states, in relevant part:
It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the occupation of
cosmetology or to operate an establishment or school of cosmetology, unless such
person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter.

12.  Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-7.050 states, in relevant part:
(1) The holder of an expired license to practice any of the classified occupations of
cosmetology may submit an application to the board to reinstate that license within
two (2) years of the date the license expired. The application shall be on a form
supplied by the board and shall be accompanied by the license renewal fee plus the
late fee,

13.  Asa result of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 3 through 7 herein, the

Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo.




14,  As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
isstie a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038 RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional
registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse
1o issue a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a
complaint with the administrative hearing commission seeking
disciplinary action against a holder of license, the board, as an alternative
to refusing to issue a license, may, al its discretion, issue to an applicant a

license subjecl 1o probation.

15. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Licensee’s application for a
cosmetology establishiment license. The Board has determined that this Order is
necessary 1o ensure the protection of the public,

il

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

16.  Based on the foregoing, MODA, Ivy Miller, owner, is granted a cosmetology
establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of THREE (3)
YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Licensee
shall be entitled to operate as a cosmetology establishment subject to the following terms and
conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter

329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State”

includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and
the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

C. During the probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensee’s cosmetology
operator and establishment license and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure




and comply with all other Board requirements necessary 1o maintain said license in a
current and active state.

D. During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

E. During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

FTLigensee shall Subnut wrillen Teports 1o the Board on of before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012.

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensee‘s
licenses current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep
the Board advised of all current places of business and residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed
or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures
afforded it and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations identified herein.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph
without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as
required by Missouri law.

J.  Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required (o be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102,

K. Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
consiitutes a violation of this Order.

17.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Licensee of the terins and conditions of this Order, Chapters 329 or

324, RSMo, or the reguiations promulgated thereunder.




18. The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS OD\ DAY ormg% 2012,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily \}})ékoll Executive Director




