BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

)

)

SINEAD LYNCH, )
| )

Applicant, )

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
~ AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE T0O SINEAD LYNCH

The Missouri State Board of Cosme_tology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2016009162 to Sinead Lynch (“Lynch” or “Applicant™), pursuant to the provisions
of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Lynch may submit a written request
to the Administrative Hearing Commission secking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision
to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written reéluest should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557,
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. Ifno written request
for review is filed with fhc Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Lynch file a

written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in

force and effect uniess and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues

an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

I Alf statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.




L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about March 18, 2016, Lynch applied for a Missouri cosmetology student
license to enroll at Hyde Beauty Academy, 3151 Litton Road, Chillicothe, Missouri.

3. On her application, Lynch answered “yes” to the question “Have you been finally
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosccution in this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. In conjunction with her March 18, 2016 application, Lynch provided an
explanation of her criminal history. In her explanation, Lynch stated that she has numerous
convictions over the last few years. She is éurrcntly serving four years for “tampering and
resisting arrest”. She stated that she regrets her bad decisions and hopes to break the cycle of
bad decisions and obtain her cos£netology license.

5, A review of Lynch’s criminal history revealed:

a. On or about June 3, 2014, Lynch pled guilty to the class D felony of Resisting
Arrest/Detention/Stop By Fleeing — Creating A Substantial Risk Of Serious Injury/Death To Any
Person, in the circuit court of Jackson County, case ‘number 1416-CR01726-01. The Court
sentenced Lynch to three years’ incarceration with the Missowri Department of Cormections.

Lynch’s sentence was suspended and she was placed




on probation for three Sfears. On October 10, 2014, Lynch’s probation was revoked and the three
year sentence of incarceration was exccuted.

b. On or about February 19, 2015, Lynch pled guilty to the class C felony of
Tamp;aring With Motor Vehicle — 1% Degree and the class D felony of Resisting
Arrest/Detention/Stop By Fleeing — Creating A Substantial Risk Of Serious Injury/Death To Any
Person, in the circuit court of Jackson County, case number 1416-CROI726-OI. The Court
sentenced Lynch to four years’ incarceration with the Missouri Department of Corrections on
both charges, running concurrently.

IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo. - |

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Lynch’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:




(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|.]

8. As a result of Lynch’s guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 5a and b, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Lynch’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Lynch’s application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

HL
ORDER

11.  Based on the foregoing, Sincad Lynch is granted a cosmetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not o exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Sinead Lynch shall be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.




V.

- TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Sinead Lynch, shall be entitled to enroll as

a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329; RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and ail applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes .
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions. -

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary petiod, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January I and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shail be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2016.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period. '

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the

Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any

required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State




Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

I. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS Q\E%AY or Ry 2016.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily R. Carroll, Executive Director




