BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

KELLY NICHOLE LITTLEPAGE,

RN N T W S

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
- AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO KELLY NICHOLE LITTLEPAGE

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2016034991 {o Kelly Nichole Littlepage (;‘Littlepage” or “Applicant”}, pursuant to
the.provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Littlepage may submit
a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the
Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Heari.ng Commission,
P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-
day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Littlepage file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order

shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing

Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L

"FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about August 22, 2016, Littlepage applied for a Missouri cosmetology
student license to enroll at Hyde Beauty Academy, 3151 Litton Road, Ch‘ill_icothe, Missouri.

3. On her application, Littlepage answered “yes” to the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, | In conjunction with her August 22, 2016 application, Littlepage provided an
explanation of her criminal history. In her explanation, Littlepage stated her 2™ degree robbery
* conviction resulted from her participation in a robbery committed by her boyfriend, She stated
that she failed to alert the police and accepts full responsibility for her role in the crime.
Littlepage stated further, that her 2™ degree arson conviction was the result of her participation
in an “insurance fraud gone bad.” She noted that she accepts responsibility for her role in this
“crime as well,

5. A review of Littlepage’s Missouri criminal history reveals:

a. On or about June 28, 2011, Littlepage pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor
“charge of Acry-Theft/Stealing (Value Of Property Or Services Is Less Than $500),

in the Circuit Court of Cooper County, Missouri, case number 11CO-CR00134.




The Court ordered a 30-day jail-sentence, with credit given for 30 days served in
the Petﬁs County jail. |

. On or about November 22, 2011, Littlepage pled guilty to the class A
misdemeanor charge of Thefi/Stealing (Value Of Properfy Or Services Is Less
Than $500), in the Circuit Court of Pettis County, Missouri, case number 11PT-
CR00171. The Cowrt ordered Va 10-day jail-sentence, with credit guivcn for 10
days served.

On or about November 21, 2011, Littlepage gave an Alford plea to the class C
felony of Arson 2™ Degree and the class A misdemeanor charge of Receiving
Stolen Property, in the Circuit Court of Pettis County, Missouri, case number
11PT-CR00531-01. The Court sentenced Littlepage to 7 years’ incarceration with
the Missouri Department of Corrections on the felony charge; the execution of
sentence was suspended and Littlepage was placed on 5 years’ supervised
probation. The Court sentenced Littlepage to 180 days’ jail incarceration on the
misdemeanor charge. On or about July 30, 2012, Littlepage’s probation was
revoked and she was ordered to serve the balance of her 7 year sentence.

. On or about May 13, 2013, Littlepage pled guilty to the class B felbny of Robbery
— o Degree, in the Circuit Court of Salin(; County, Missouri, case number 13SA-
CR00154-01. The Court sentenced Littlepage to 10 years’ incarceration with the
Missouri Department of Corrections; suspended execution of her sentence and
place her on 5 years’-supervised probation. On or about November 12, 2013,

Littlepage’s probation was revoked she was ordered to serve her 10 year sentence.



c.

On or about September 3, 2013, Littlepage pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor
of Resisting/Interfering With Arrest, Detention Or Stop, in the Circuit Court of
Pettis County, Missouri, case number 13PT-CR00915. The Cowrt sentenced
Littlepage to 120 days’ jail incarceration; suspended execution of sentence, placed

her in shock incarceration for 11 days and placed her on 2 years’ supervised

probation with 20 hours of community service.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Littlepage’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed].]




8. As a result of Littlepage’s guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 5 a - e above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Littlepage’s appiication for a cosmetology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. Asan altemnative to refusir.lg to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides: |

Whenever a board within or assigned to the div.iksrion of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Littlepage’s application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

1L
ORDER

11.  Based on the foregoing, Kelly Nichole Littlepage is granted a cosmetology
student license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is
enrolled in cosmetology scﬁool and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from
the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Kelly Nichole Littlepage
shall be entitled to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Kelly Nichole Littlepage, shall be entitled

to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:




. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable boatd regulations, all applicable federal and state diug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws, ““State” includes
the state of Missowi, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor comphance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for mtel views with the
Board or its designee upon request.

. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on ot before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
corpliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before Raly-1:-2645: January 1, 2017,

. Hfy at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouti, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license cutrent or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or indctive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, natices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Exammers P.0. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102,

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.




13, This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the ferms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

| 14. The_ Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

o
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 5§ - DAY OWQ‘ 2016.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily R. Cayroll, Bxecutive Director






