BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
QOF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

BRENDA LAMB,

M S N S

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO BRENDA LAMB

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
1ssues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2013039696 to Brenda Lamb (“Lamb” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the provisions of
§ 324.038, RSMo. As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Lamb may submit a written request to the
Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to
issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request should be addressed to the Aldministrative Hearing Co;nmission, P.O. Box 1557,
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65 162-15 57. If no written request -
for review is filed with the Adminisirative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Lamb file a

written request for review of this Order. the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain_in

force and effect uniess and/or until such time as the Adminjstrative Hearing Commission_issues

an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



L

FINDINGS OF.FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo,' for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of
barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed
occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about July 16, 2013, Brenda Lamb applied for a cosmetology student
license to enroll at Hyde Beauty Academy, 3151 Litton Road, Chillicothe, Missouri.

3. On her application, Applicant answered “yes” to the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. Upon further inquiry by the Board, Applicant Lamb provided a statement dated
June 17, 2013, regarding her answer of “yes” to the question regarding criminal history.
Applicant stated: “My name is Brenda C. Lamb. I was first sent to Vandalia (WERDCC) in
2005 for burglary and possession. [ am currently in CCC for assault and resisting arrest.” Lamb
provided further explanation through a statement dated September 23, 2013, in which she
described the assault as arising from an altercation with an intoxicated friend and the resisting
arrest as arising from hitting a police officer, who was looking for her son, with a cell phone.

3. A review of Lamb's Missouri criminal history revealed:

a. On or about July 14, 2011, Lamb' pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of DWI
— Alcohol and to the class A misdemeanor of Possession of Up To 35 Grams

Marijuana in the Circuit Court of Taney County in case number 10AF-CR02907.

! All statutory references are 10 Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated,



The court sentenced Lamb to 1_80 days jail on each charge but suspended
execution of the sentence and placed Lamb ion two years of supervised probation.

b. On or about Ar‘:\pril 11, 2013, Lamb was convicted by a jury of the class C felony
of Assault/Attempted Assault = L/E, C/O, E/P, Hwy Wkr, Uulity Wikr Or P&P -
Other than Deadly Wpn Or Dngrs and to the class D Felony of
Resisting/Inferfering with Arrest for a Felony in the Circuit Court of Taney
County in case number HHAF-CR02559-01. The court sentenced Lamb on the
first charge 10 one year of jail and on the second charge to three years of
incarceration in the Missouri Department of Corrections.

¢. On or about April 18, 2013, Lamb pled guilty to the class C felony of Assault -
Second Degree and to the class D felony of Resisting/Interfering with Arrest for a
Felony in the Circuit Court of Taney County, Missouri, in case number 11AF-
CR02209-01. The Court on the assault charge sentenced Lamb to five years of
incarceration in the Missouri Department of Corrections and on the
resisting/interfering charge sentenced.Lamb to 'four years of incarceration in the
Missourt Department of Corrections, with the sentences to run concurrently with
each other and with other existing sentences.

IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:
The board may refuse to issﬁe any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes

stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to



file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Lamb’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing

_ commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related 1o
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|.]

8. As a result of Lamb’s actions as set forth in paragraphs 3 through 5 above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Lamb’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant
to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Lamb’s application for a

cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order i1s necessary to ensure

the protection of the public.



11L.
ORDER

11. Based on the foregoing, Brenda Lamb is granted a cosmetology student license,

which is hereby placed on PROBAT]ON for the period during which she 1s enrolled in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Brenda Lamb shall be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12 During the aforementioned probation, Brenda Lamb shall be entitled to enroil as a

cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A,

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missour, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period; Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order. .

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been



compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January i, 2014.

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetolfogy student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

H. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo. .

[ Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102, :

1. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regutations prorﬁulgated thereunder.

14.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE TH]SIQ\C_\_ DAY OF OCTOBER, 2013.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

@\’\’\.\L\Q&\l\’l&g\_\

Emily CarroltSExecutive Director




