BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

[n the Matter of the Application of

BONNIE HIPPLE,

N St S e e

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO BONNIE HIPPLE

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board"’) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2013044523 to Bonnie Hipple (“Hipple™ or “Applicant™), pursuant to the provisions
of § 324.038, RSMo. As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Hipple may submit a written request to
the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to
issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request shoul.d be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Comhissiou, P.O. Box 1557,
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no writien request
for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Hipple file a

written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in
force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Admimstrative Hearing Commission issues

an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo,' for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of
barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed
occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about Octaober 31, 2013, Bonnie Hipple applied for a cosmetology student
license to enroll at Hyde Beauty Academyl, Chillicothe Corrections, 3151 Litton Road,
Chililicothe, Missour:.

3. On her appficatiOn, Applicant answered “yes” to the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. With her application, Hipple provided a statement regarding her answer of “yes”
to the question regarding criminal history. She stated that she got-in trouble for the first time
January 7, 2011. She stated she got pulled over by the police for going off the road and was
charged with DUI and possession of a controlled substance. She stated she was placed on
probation but in April of 2012, the Court revoked her probation and sentenced to a 120 day
treatment program in the Department of Corrections. She stated she completed treatment, was
released on September 21, 2012 and placed back on probation. She stated that on June 15, 2013,

she was arrested and charged with assault on a law enforcement office, endangering the welfare

of a child and DUI. She was sentenced to five years’ in Department of Corrections for the class

' All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



C felony assault. She also stated when she was 19 years old she received a minor in possession.

She was placed on two years’ unsupervised probation which she completed.

J.

A review of Hipple’s Missouri criminal history reveals:

On or about September 27, 2007, Hipple pled guilty to the unclassified

-misdemeanor of purchase or attempt o purchase or possession of liquor by a

minor in the. Circuit Court of Camden County, Missouri, case number 07CM-
CRO1620. The Court sentenced Hipple to a $175 fine.

On or about February 27, 2012, Hipple pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of
driving while intoxicated, drug intoxication, in the Circuit Court of Camden ‘
County, Missouri, case number 11CM-CR00281-02. The Court sentenced Hipple
to 60 days in jail but suspended the execution of sentence and placed her on two
years’ supervised probaiion. On May 24, 2012, the Court revoked Hipple's
probation and reinstated her jail sentence, to be served concurrently with her
Department of Corrections sentence.

On or about May 24, 2012, Hipple pled guilty to the class C felony of possession
of a controlled substance, except 35 grams or less of marijuana in the Circuit
Court of Camden County, Missouri, case number 12CM-CR00680-01. The Court
sentenced Hipple to four years’ incarceration in Missouri Department of
Corrections pursuant to § 5-59.115, RSMO, but suspended the execution of
sentence and placed her on five years’ supervised probation. On August 20, 2013,
t.he Court revoked her probation‘ and imposed her sentence of four years’

Incarceration.



On or about August 20, 201 3, Hipple pled guilty to the class C felony of assault of
a law enforcement office, the class A misdemeanor of endangering the welfare of
a child in the second degree and the clasé A misdemeanor of driving while
intoxicated, prior offender, in the Circuit Court of Camden County, Missouri, case
number léCM-CROlZB-OI. The Court sentenced Hipple to five years’

e .

incarceration on the assault charge and 30 days jail for each of the misdemeanor

charges, with credit for time served.
I1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Hipple’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

'(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which



is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed[.]

8. As a result of Hipple’s actions as set forth in paragraphs 3 through 5 above, the
Board has cause o deny or refuse Hipple’s application for a cosmetology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo!.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Hipple's application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

1L
ORDER

1. Based on the foregoing, Bonnie Hipple is granted a cosmetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Bonnie Hipple shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.



TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Bonnie Hipple shall be entitled to enroll as

a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A,

H.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its desighee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2014.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
336, RSMo. .



. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
malerials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

J. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Boa-rd or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14. The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS I I DAY OF DECEMBER, 2013.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily Carrolm&(ecutive Director




