BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

VALERIE HILLMANN,

S S N N N

Applicant,

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO VALERIE HILLMANN

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hercby
issues its ORDER granting 2 PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
Llcense No. (')OI 1015046) to Valerie Hillmann, pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.
As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Hillmann may submit a written request to the Administrative
Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision ;o issue a probated
student license. Such writien request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Conumission
within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be
addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office
Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. [ no written request for review is filed

with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review

of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Hiilmann file a written request for

review oi this Order, the tenms and conditions of this Order shall remain _in force and effect

unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Qrder 1o the

conlrary,

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



i,

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
o § 329.015, RSMo Cum. Supp. 2009, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the
praclice of barbefing and cosmelology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the
licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329,
RSMa (as amended).

2, On or about April 17, 2007 Hillmann pled guilty in the St Charies County Circuit
Court, State of Missouri, case number 0-61 1-CR05048-01, to the class C felony of 2 of Assaull
2™ Degree - Opérate Vehicle While Intoxicated Resulting in tnjury; for which Hillmann was
scntenced [0 a period of six ycars in Missouri Depanme‘nt of Corrections, Hillmann received a
Suspended Execution of Sen‘lcnce andd was placed on probation for a period of five years
supervised by the Missouri Board of Probation and Parole, Hilimann’s probation was revoked
and was sentenced to Missoun Department of Corrections for four years.

3. On or about February 28, 2011 Valerie Hillmann applied for a Missouri

cosmetology student license.

H,

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

4, The Board has authority 10 deny or reluse a license application pursuant to
- §329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may reluse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant 10 this chapler for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right 10

I




file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

5. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Hillmann's application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2,°RSMo, which providcs:

The board tnay cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, ‘against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or bas surrendered the person’s certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: ' :

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of-any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|.]

6. As a result of Hillmann’s actions as set lorth in paragraph 2, the Board has cause
to deny or refuse Hillmann's application for a cosmetology student license pursuant to §
329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo. -

7. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject 1o probation, pursuanm 10 § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so cmpowered, may refuse 1o issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license. the

board, as an alternative to refusing lo issue a license, may, at its discretion, i'géi!c

(o an applicant a license subject to probation.

8. The Board issues this Order in liew of denial of Hillmann's application for a

cosmelology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure

the protection of the public:

el



HI,
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Valerie Hillmann is granted a cosmetology student license,

which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not o exceed five (3) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Valerie Hilimann shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

v,

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Valerie Hillmann, Applicant, shall be entitled to enroll

as & cosmelology student subject to the Tollowing terms and conditions:

A

B.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and stale criminal laws, “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
cwrrent work and home telephone numbers.  Applicant shall notily the Board in wwriting
within ten days (10) of any change in this information,

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely rencw Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives 10 monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order,

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with- the
Board or tts designee upon request,

- Applicant shall submit writien reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1

during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been




comptiance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 201 1.

G. If, at any lime during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board

advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken 10 satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

H. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of

o this Order has occurred and, if a‘violation of this Order has occurred, may seek 10 amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant 10 this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chaptér
536, RSMo.

I. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
maltcrials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded 10: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, PO, Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

J. Any failurc by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or resirict the remedies available 1o it concerning any
violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Ordef, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the
regulations promulgated thereunder. |

The Board will matntain this Order as an ‘opcn, public record of the Board as provided in
Chaptcrs 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE - I]IISb\ DAY OF Nm L2011,

NMISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS '

G 2. edd )

Emily Carrol{_Exccutive Director




