BEFORY, THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
- OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

HOLLY J. HICKAM,

M St S S S

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO HOELY J. HICKAM

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,

License No. 2015035732 to Holly J. Hickam (“Hickam” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the

provisions of § 324.03;-2;“1{-5.1\/[0.] A_s ;et forth in § 324.038.2 RSM&, “ﬁickam may subnﬁ‘g a |
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the
* Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
‘Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission,
P.0. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-
day pe_1_'_iod, the right to seck review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Hickam file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order

shall zemain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Heating

Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.




L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
fo § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Béard has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about July 24, 2015, Hickam applied for a Missouri cosmetology student
license to enroll at Paul Mitchell the School Missouri Columbia, 1611 Burlington Sll'ee;f, Suite A,
Columbia, Missoﬁri.

3. On her application, Hickam answered “yes” to the question “Have you been

adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. In conjunction with her July 24, 2015 application, Hickam provided an
explanation of her criminal history. In her explanation, Hickam stated that she was given four
years’ unsupervised probation for two DWI charges. She noted that she successfully completed
an alcohol treatment program and her unsupervised probation. Hickam stated she was also
charged with third degree assault for which she was given probation. Hickam also stated that she
pled guilty to property damage in 2005. |

5. A review of Hickam’s Missouri criminal history reveals:

a. On or about November 30, 2005, Hickam pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of

Property Damage — 2nd Degree, in the Circuit Court of Cooper County, Missouri case

number 05G1-CR00448. The Court sentenced Hickam to 30 days™jail incarceration, but



suspended execution of the sentence and placed Hickam (a/k/a Chase) on one year
unsupervised probation; | |

b. On or about November 2, 2010, Hickam pled guilty fo the class B misdemeanor of
DWi Alcohol, in the Cireuit Court of Cooper County, Missouri case number 10CO-
CR00365. The Court sentenced Hickam to 30 days’ jail incarceration, but suspended
execution of the sentence and placed Hickam (a/k/a Chase) on two years’ unsupervised
probation;

¢. On or about November 2, 2010, Hickam pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of
DWi — Alcohol, in the Circuit Court of Cooper County, Missouri case number 10CO-

CR00367. The Court sentenced Hickam to 60 days’ jail incarceration, but suspended

.éx-ecutioﬁ of the senténce and ﬁlaced Hiékﬁ.ll'ﬂ. (a/k/a CﬁaSej .611.tv.v.o .yééfs’-ul-l-supér\:f_i-sed
probation;

d. On or about November 18, 2011, Hickam pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor of
Assault 3 Degree — Pursuant To Subdivisions (1), (2), (4), (6), in the Circuit Court of
Cooper County, Missouri case number 11BA-CR03518. The Court sentenced Hickam fo
90 days’ jail incarceration, but suspended execution of the sentent‘:e and placed Hickam
(a/k/a Chase) on two years’ unsupervised probation.

11.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writifg of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to




file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cguse to deny or refuse Hickam’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or

regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|.]

8.

As a result of Hickam’s guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 5 above, the Board

has cause to deny or refuse Hickam’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned fo the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the
board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.

‘The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Hickam’s application for a

cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure

the protection of the public.



INI.
ORDER

11.  Based on the foregoing, Holly I. Hickam is granted a cosmetology student

license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Holly J. Hickam shail be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Holly J. Hickam, shall be entitled to enroll

Casa cosmetblbgir student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced -
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the ferms and
conditions of this Order.

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the

Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2016.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or



active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period. .

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this' Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo. :

. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it

concerning any violation by. Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,

RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public-record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

A
© SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS \Q ~ DAY oF U e 2015.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Sl 2 00a00 )

Emily R. Cérroll, Executive Director




