BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

“ In the Matter of the Application of

ANGELA M. GROSS,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY -
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO ANGELA M. GROSS

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
Ticense No. 2016016950 to Angela M. Gross (“Gross” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the
provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Gross may submit a
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the
Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission,
P.0. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557.\ Iif
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-

day period; the right fo seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Gross file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall

remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing

Commission issues an Order fo the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L

FINDINGS OF FACT

L. The Board is an égency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupatidns
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about May 12, 2016, Gross applied for a Missouri cosmetology student

license to enrol! at Hyde Beauty Academy, 3151 Litton Road, Chillicothe, Missouri.

3. On her application, Gross .answered “yes” to the question “Have you been -

adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state;,, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”
4, In conjunction with her May 12, 2016 application, Gross provided an explanation
of her criminal history. In her explanation, Gross stated that she has “two charges for
Theft/Stealing, class B & C,” which were the result of her embezzling money from companies
for whom she worked. She stated further that she “misused her company credit card and took
cash from people who trusted [her].” She noted that she let her life “spin out of control” and fhat
she is now “trying to put [her] life back in order.”
5. A review of Gross’ criminal history reveals:
a. On or about November 9, 2004, Gross pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor of
Passing Bad Check — Less Than $500, in the Circuit Court of Ray County, Missouri,

case number O4CR103921. The Court fined Gross $25.00.




b. On or about June 22, 2015, Gross pled guilty to the class C felony of Thefi/Stealing
(Value Of Property Or Services Is $500 Or More But Less Than $25,000), in the
Circuit Court of Jackson County, Missouri, case number 1216-CR04825-01. The
Court sentenced Gross to 4 years’ incarceration Wﬁh the Missouri Department of
Corrections.

¢. On or about Augusf 25, 2014, Gross pled guilty to the class B felony of Thefi/Stealing
(Value Of Property Or Services Is $25,000 Or More), in the Circuit Court of Lafayette
County, Missouri, case number 14LF-CR00340-01. The Court sentenced Gross to
15 yeérs’ incarceration with the Missoﬁti Department of Corrections, ordered Gross to
serve 120 days shock incarceration and upon release, suspended execution of
Gross® sentence and placed Gross on 5 years’ supervised probation.

IL.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant fo

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or anthority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a compldint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter.621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Gross® application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of



registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: :

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which -
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed][.}

8. As a result of Gross’ guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph Sa through c, the Board
has cause fo deny or refuse Gross’ application for a cosmetology student license pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Gross’ application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

1L
ORDER
11.  Based on the foregoing, Angela M, Gross is granted a cosmetology student

license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective




date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Angela M. Gross shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV,

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Angela M. Gross, shall be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A,

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor comphance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2017. :

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any




required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

H. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

I. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

-
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 8\\‘3 DAY OF W\Q\-\ 2016.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

AT

Emily R. ‘Carroll, Executive Director




