- PHOEBE L. DUNLAP,

BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

S N Nt N

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO PHOKBE .. DUNLAP

The Missouri State Boardlof Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 087Q12 to Phoebe L. Duntap (“Dunlap” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the ﬁrovisions
of § 324.038, RSMo. As set fo_rfh in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Dunlap méy submit a written request
to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and revigv of the Board’s decision
to issue a probated student license. Such written réquest must be filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request Shoulci be addressed to the Adnﬁnistrative Hearing Comlﬁission, P.O.';30x iS 57,
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson Citj, MO 65102-1557. If no written request
for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Comumission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Dunlap file a

" written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in

force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues

an Order {o the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states: -



L

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo,' for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of
barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has contro} and supervision of the licensed
occupatipns and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On oi' about November 4, 2014, Phoebe L. Dunlap applied fo_r a cosmetology
student license to enroll at National Academy of Beauty Arts, 670 Walton Drive, Farmington, | |
Missouri.

3. On her application, Applicant answered “yes” to the question “Have you beeg
adjudicated and found guilty, or eﬁtered ak plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, With her application, Dunlap provided a statément regarding her criminal history.
Dunlap stated that she was charged in misdemeanor assault in the third degree in May 2008. She
stated thaf her “niece entered her home and attached her.” She stated ghe defended herself, was
charged with assault, pled guilty and paid all court fines. She also stated that in August 2008 she
was charged with misdemeanor DWI and operating on an _expired license. She stated she was
placed on two years’ probation, comp_letéd SATOP class and paid all court costs. Finally she
stated ﬁl&t in May 2009, she received a misdemeanor trespa_ss'ing ticket for being on private
property. She stated shé paid all court costs and fines.

5. On February 3, 2015, Dunlap provided a more detailed statement regarding the

three instances described in paragraph 4 above. As to the assault charge, she stated that her

tw

! All statutory references are t6 Missouri Revised Statates 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



“piece walked into her home without her permission and attached her.” Dunlap stated she

defended herself by hitting her back and her niece filed charges against her. She stated she was

only sentenced to fines and court costs. As to the DWI charge she stated she drove home after

having “one and a half” drinks and got pulled over. She stated she was charged with DWI and

operating on an expired license and was placed on two years’ robation. She stated she is no
perating p p years® p ‘ :

longer on probation and has no pending charges.

6.

A review of Dunlap’s criminal history reveals that:
On or about October 2, 2008, Dunlap pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor of
Assault in the Third Degree in the Circuit Court of St. Francois County, Missouri,

case number 08D7-CR01391. The Court sentenced Dunlap to a $250.00 fine.

. On or about May 26, 2009, Dunlap pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of

Driving Whjle Intoxicated in the Circuit Court of St. Francois County, Missouri,
case number 08D7-CR02058. The Court suspended the imposition of sentence
and placed Dunlap on two years® supervised probation.

On or about October 21, 2009, Dunlap pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of
Aclivities Violation in a Non-Designated Conservation Area in the Circuit Court
of St. Francois County, Missouri, case number 09D7-CR00998. The Court

sentenced Dunlap to a $150.00 fine.

. On or about May 2, 2013, Duﬁlap pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor of

Domestic Assault in the 3™ Degree in the Circuit Court of St. Francois County,

Missouri, case number 13SF-CR00208. The Court sentenced Dunlap to a

$200.00 fine.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

7. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any cettificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

8. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Dunlap’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed]. ]

9. As a result of Dunlap’s plea of guilty as set forth in paragraph 6a through 6d
above, the Board has cause to deny or refuse Dunlap’s application for a cosmetologjf student
license pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

10.  As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which proifides:



Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

11.  The Board issues this Order in licu of denial of Dunlap’s application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

1L
ORDER

12.  Based on the foregoing, Phoebe L. Dunlap is granted a cosmetology student
license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective
date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Phoebe L. Dunlap shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

13.  During the aforementioned probation, Phoebe L. Dunlap shall be entitied to enroll
as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions. - '

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.



C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

D. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

E. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2015.

F. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

G. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

H. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson Clty, Missouri
65102.

I. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of d1301p1me set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

14. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

15.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided ir‘1 Chapters 329, 610 énd 324, RSMo. |

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 22nd DAY OF APRIL, 2015,




"MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

(C;m(uk R (eenad

Emily R. Carroll, Executive Director



