BEFORY, THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

DAN DINH

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
CLASS MO MANICURIST OPERATOR LICENSE TO
DAN DINH

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (“Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY CLASS MO MANICURIST OPERATOR
LICENSE, License No. 2015022827, to Dan Dinh (hereafter, Dinh), pursuant to the provisions
of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Dinh may submit a written request to
the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to
issue a probated operator-license. Such ‘Written request must be filed with the Adininistrati\re
Heanng Commission wﬂhm 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request should be addlessed to the Administrative Hearmg Comimission, P. O Box 1557,
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no writlen request
for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Dinh file a

written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in

force and effect unless or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an

Order to the confrary.

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L.
Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

L. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Dinh currently resides at 12209 S. Foxridge Dr., Olathe, Kansas 66062.

3. On or about December 9, 2014, Dinh applied by reciprocity for a Class MO
manicurisi} operator license.

4. Dinh holds a Kansas Nail Technician license, license number 18887. The Kansas
Board of Cosmetology issued Dinh’s license on or about October 24, 2008. Dinn’s Kansas
license expires October 31, 2016.

| 5. On or about February 12, 2014, the Kansas Board of Cosmetology revoked
Dinh’s Nail Technology Establishment license, license number 6715. Dinh’s Kansas -
establishment license was revoked for allowing unlicensed practice in his shop in violation of
K.S.A. 65-1909(a)(1) Whicﬁ prohibits the employment of unlicensed individuals to engage in an
activity for whi-ch a Heense is required. Dinh was previously issued a Summary Order on May 9,

2013 for allowing unlicensed practice in his Kansas shop.



il

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140, RSMo, which provideé:

1. The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any
combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board
shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall
advise the applicant of the applicant's right to file a complaint with the
administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Dinh’s application for a Class MO

manicurist operator license pursuant to § 329.140, RSMo, which provides:

1. The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one
or any combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section.
The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the
refusal and shall advise the applicant of the applicant's right to file a
complaint with the administrative hearing

commission as provided by chapter 621.

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative
hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any
holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license
required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has
surrendered the person's certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(8) Disciplinary action against the holder of a license or other right to practice any
profession regulated by this chapter granted by another state, territory, federal
agency or country upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized

in this state;




8.

(13) Violation of any professional trust or confidencel

Section 329.030, RSMo, states, in relevant part, that it is unlawful for any person

in this state to engage in the occupation of cosmetology or to operate an establishment or school

of cosmetology, unless such person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter.

9.

State Regulation 20 CSR 2085-10.060, states in relevant part:

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo, no barber or
cosmetology establishment owner, manager, or proprietor
shall permit any person who does not hold a current
Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a
barber or cosmetologist in the establishment. No license

. or permit issued by the board shall be posted in a licensed

establishment unless the license or permit is current and active,

and the licensee or permitholder is an employee of the

establishment or holds a current and active renter establishment
Heense issued by the board|.]

(3)Prohibited Practices Within An Establishment. In a licensed
establishment, only persons properly licensed by the board shall be
allowed to perform barbering, hairdressing, manicuring, or esthetician
services on any person within the establishment. The provisions

of this section shall apply even if services are being provided for no
compensation. For purposes of this section, barbering, hairdressing,
manicuring, or esthetician services shall be defined as follows:

(D)“Manicuring”—Cutting, trimming, polishing, coloring, tinting, cleaning,
or otherwise beautifying a person’s fingernails, applying artificial fingernails,
massaging, cleaning a person’s hands and arms; pedicuring, which includes
cutting, trimming, polishing, coloring, tinting, cleaning, or otherwise
beautifying a person’s toenails, applying artificial toenails, massaging, or
cleaning a person’s legs and feet.

As aresult of Dinh’s conduét as stated in paragraph 5 above, the Board has cause

to deny or refuse Dinh’s application for a cosmetology operator license pursuant to §§ 329.140.1



and 329.140.2(8) and (13), RSMo, in that Dinh was engaged and licensed in Kansas in a
profession regulated in the State of Missouri by this chapter and was disciplined by the Kansas
Board of Cosmetology upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in the
State of Missouri and for which the Board has cause to deny Dinh’s application for a Class MO
manicurist dperator license.

11, As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the
board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation.

12. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Dinh’s application for a Class MO
manicurist operator license, The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to énsure the
protection 61" the public. |

L
ORDER
13.  Based on the foregoing, Dan Dinh is granted a Class MO manicurist operator
license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period two (2) years, subject to the terms
and conditions set forth below.
1v.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

14. During the aforementioned probation, Dinh shall be entitled to a Class MO

manicurist operator license subject to the following terms and conditions:



. During the disciplinary period, Dinh shall comply with all provisions of Chapter 329,
RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws, rules
and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes the
state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the ordinances
of their political subdivisions.

. During the disciplinary period, Dinh shall keep the Board informed of his current work
and home telephone numbers. Dinh shall notify the Board in writing within ten days (10)
of any change in this information.

.-During the probationary period, Dinh shall timely renew his Class MO manicurist
operator license granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and
comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current
and active state.

. During the probationary period, Dinh shall accept and comply with unannounced visits
from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and conditions of
this Order.

. During the disciplinary period, Dinh shall appear in person for interviews with the Board
or its designee upon request.

. Dinh shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1 during
cach year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been compliance
with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be received by the
Board on or before January 1, 2016.

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Dinh changes his address from the state of
Missouri, or ceases to maintain his Class MO manicurist operator license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all repoits, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State



Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

J. Any failure by Dinh to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

15.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Dinh of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 324 and
329, RShdé, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

16.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS §TH DAY OF JULY, 2015.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

6\(\\&[&« . Qeentd

Emily R. Carroll, Executive Director




