BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

RACHEAL RASHELL DICKENS,

T

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO RACHEAL RASHELL DICKENS

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY. COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,

License No. 2015035230 to Racheal Rashell Dickens (“Dickens™ or “Applicant”), pursuant to

;the-lj_r;)\!isioné of § 324,03é, RSMO.I As s.et forth m § 324.038.2, RSMo, Dickens.‘ iﬁay submit a
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the
Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Sﬁch written request must be filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, -
P.O. Box 1557, Trl_ima}}/‘State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. 1If
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-
day period, the i‘ight to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Dickens file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Quder

shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing

Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

L The ‘B_oard is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo. |

2. On or about August 24, 2015, Dickens applied for a Missouri cosmetology
student license to emroll at Vandalia Institute of Cosmetology, 1101 E. Hwy. 54, Vandalia,
Missouri. -

3. On her application, Dickens answered “yes” to the question “Have you been

adjudicated and found guiity, 01 entered a_.plrera of guiltywor ﬁolo conte-:ndere,‘ in a crimiﬁéﬁ
prosecution in this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, In conjunction with her August 24, 2014 application, Dickens provided an
explanation of her criminal history. In her explanation, Dickens stated that at the age of 19, she
was involved in a drunken driving car accident that caused the death of her “best friend.” Her
current release date is February 27, 2017.

5. Areview of Dickens’ Missouri criminal history reveals that, on or about, May 14,
2014, Dickens pled guilty to the class C felony of Involuntary Manslaughter — Vehicular —
Intoxicated, in the Circuit Court of Dunklin County, Missouri, case number 13DU-CRO0576-01.
The Court sentenced Dickens to 4 years’ incarceration with the Missouri Department of

Corrections.



IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file 'a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Dickens’ application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329:140.2, RSMo, which provides:

o The board may cause a complaint to be filed with~the-administrative hearing™ -

commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a cxriminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which

is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed[.]

8.

As a result of Dickens’ guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 5 above, the Board

~ has cause to deny or refuse Dickens’ application for a cosmetology student license parsuant to §

329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:



Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,-

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Dickens’ application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

oL~
ORDER
11.  Based on the foregoing, Racheal Rashell Dickens is granted a cosmetology

_student license, which is hereby placed 6n PROBATION for the period during which she 1s

enrolled in cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from

the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Racheal Rashell Dickens

shall be entitled to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.
V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Racheal Rashell Dickens, shall be entitled
to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary peried, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.




C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

D. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and-
conditions of this Order.

E. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

F. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before Janwary 1, 2016. - '

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of

all current places_of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or

unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

H. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

I. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.Q. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102,

1. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,

RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.




14, The Board will maintain this Order as an opeﬁ, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS O DAY OFCRNDEE. 2015,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Ca L Comsady,

Emily Cés¥oll, Executive Director




