BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

[n the Matter of the Application of

)

)

AARON DAVIS, )
)

Applicant. )

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE-BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
BARBER LICENSE TO AARON DAVIS

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY BARBER LICENSE, License No.
2013018700, to Aaron Davis (hereafter “Davis”), pursuant to the provisions of §324.038, RSMo.
As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo,' Davis may submit a written request to the Administrative
Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated
student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission
within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be
addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office
Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed
with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review

of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Davis file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect

unless or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the

contrary.

LAl statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.
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Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
10 § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board-has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Aaron Davis currently resides at 1736 Kappel Ave, St. Louis, MO 63136.

3. Davis currently holds a barber license (license no. 17978) from the State of
Alaska. The Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers issued Davis’ barber license on October
17,2011, and it expires August 31, 2013. Davis’ Alaska barber license is current and active.

4, On or about April 22, 2013, Davis applied for a Missouri barber license by
reciprocity.

5. On his reciprocity application, Davis answered yes to the following question:

In the last ten (10) years have you been adjudicated and .
found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere
to a criminal prosecution under the laws of this State or any

other State or of the United States, whether or not sentence
was imposed.

6. With his April 22, 2013 application, Davis included a statement regarding his
answer of yes to the question regarding cniminal history. Davis stated that on or about April 24,
2008, he “made the biggest mistake of [his] life” and struck his wife after first consuming
alcohol and arguing with her. Davis stated he was charged with a felony and served 8§ months in
jail. Davis stated he completed alcohol abuse and anger management classes and “learned a lot

from this tragic moment in my life.”
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7. A review of Alaska records reveals that on or about July 16, 2008, Davis pled guilty
in the Criminal Superior Court, State of Alaska, case number 111569733, to the class B Felony of
assault with a deadly weapon for which Davis served 8 months in jail.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 328.150.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for
one or any combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this
section. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the
reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant's right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

9. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Davis’ application for a barber license

pursuant to § 328.150.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the
administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621,
RSMo, against any holder of any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any
combination of the following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and
found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense
reasonably related to'the qualifications, functions or
duties of any profession licensed or regulated under
this chapter, for any offense an essential element of
which is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or



for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether
or not sentence is imposed[.]

10. As a result of Davis pleading guilty to assault with a deadly weapon, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Davis’ application for a barber license pursuant to §§ 328.150.1, and

328.150.2(2), RSMo.

11, As an altemnative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion
issu€ a license subject Lo probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which provides:
Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of
professional registration, including the division itself when so
empowered, may refuse to issue a license for reasons which also
serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of
a license, the board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license,
may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a license subject to

probation.

12. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Davis’ application for a barber
license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure the protection of the

public.

IT1.
ORDER
Based on the foregoing, Aaron Davis is granted a barber license, which is hereby placed
on PROBATION for a period of three (3) years from the effective date of this Order, subject to

the terms and conditions set forth below.



IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Aaron Davis shall be entitled to hold himself out as

a licensed barber subject to the following terms and conditions:

A,

During the disciplinary period, Davis shall comply with all provisions of Chapters 328
and 329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State”
includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Davis shall keep the Board informed of his current work
addresses and home telephone numbers. Davis shall notify the Board in writing within
ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Davis shall timely renew his license granted hereby and
shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all other Board
requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

. During the probationary period, Davis shall accept and comply with unannounced visits

from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and conditions of
this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Davis shall appear in person for interviews with the Board
or its designee upon request.

Davis shall submit written reports to the Board on or before Januvary 1 and July 1 during
each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been compliance
with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be received by the
Board on or before january 1, 2014.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Davis changes his address from the state of
Missoun, or ceases to maintain his barber license current or active under the provisions
of Chapter 328, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of all current places of
residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown
whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

The Beard retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Qrder has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.



[. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

J. Any failure by Davis to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to 1t concerning any
violation by Respondent of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 324, 328 and 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in
Chapters 328, 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS ﬁ DAY OF JUNE, 2013.

MISSQURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

o RN r R0

Emily R. CarroTtg Executive Director




