BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

[n the Matter of the Application of )

)

JESSIE COTNER, }

)

Applicant. )
ORDER OF THE

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS
ISSUING A PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO
JESSIE COTNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
No. 20130093558, to Jessie Cotner, pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo. P As set forth
in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Cotner may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing
Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license.
Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board's decision

shall be considered waived. Should Cotner file a written request for review of this Order, the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless or until such time as the

Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

' All statutory references are 10 the Revised Statuies of Missouri 2000, as amended, unless
otherwise indicated.



FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.013, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Jessie Cotner (“Applicant™) is a natural person residing at 1975 Hwy. HH, Salem,
Missouri 65560.

3. On or about December 20, 2007, Applicant was convicted in Upshur County,
Texas, of second degree. sexual assault of a child, for which Applicant was sentenced to four
vears of incarceration, which Applicant has served.

4. Onr or about February 25, 2013, Applicant filed a Student Enrollment Application
with the Board seeking a cosmetology student license.

Il

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

3. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to i1ssue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant 1o this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his nght to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

6. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

"~



The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|[.]

7. Asaresult of Applicant’s actions as set forth in paragraph 3, the Board has cause
to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant 1o
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

8. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itsetf when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an-applicant a license subject to probation.

9. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Applicant’s application for a

cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure

the protection of the public.

[

ORDER



Based on the foregoing, Jesste Cotner is granted a cosmetology student license, which is
hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which he is enrolled in cosmetology
school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective date of this
Order. During the aforementioned probation, Jessie Cotner shall be entitled to enroll as a
cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

v.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probaiton Jessie Cotner, Applicant, shall be entitled to enroll as a
cosmetology student subject to the 'following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and siate criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary penod, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall umely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
‘other Board requirements necessary 10 maintain said license in a current and active state.

D. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

m

F. Applicant shall submit writien reports 1o the Board on or before January | and July 1
during each year of the probauonary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
reccived by the Board on or before July 1, 2013.

G. If, at anv time during the probationary period. Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicani’s cosmetology student license



current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satsfy any part of the
probationary period.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102,

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any

violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the

regulations promulgated thereunder.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 2nd DAY OF APRIL, 2013.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily Cafol, Executive Director




