BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

CALIFORNIA CUTS,
NANCY JACKSON, owner,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY BARBER ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
CALIFORNIA CUTS, NANCY JACKSON, OWNER

The Missoun State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board™)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY BARBER ESTABLISHMENT
LICENSE, License No. 2012032823, to California Cuts, Nancy Jackson, owner (hereafter,
“Licensee™), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.' As set forth in  §324.038.2,
RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission
seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license. Such written
request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or
mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed 1o the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. {{ no writien request for review is filed with the Administrative
“Flearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a written request for review of this Order. the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or uniil such time

as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order 1o the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

I. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
10 § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSI\;lo.

2. Licensee is a licensed as a barber operator, license number 010340. Licensee’s
barber operator license was at all times relevant herein, and is now current and active.

3. On or about September 29, 2011, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Registration with the Board seeking licensure as a rental, commercial barber establishment under
the name of California Cuts, Nancy Jackson, p\.vner, to be located at 2757 Shenandoah, St. Louis,
Missouri 63104. The Board received the initial application on September 29, 2011,

4. On or about November 23, 2011, the Board inspecied Califoernia Cuts. The Board
mspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering barbering
services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-
10.060, and § 328.020, RSMo. On or about December 15, 2011, the Board sent a violation
notice to Licensee at California Cuts.

3. On or about January 13, 2012, lhé Board inspected California Cuts. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: licensee was present and offering

cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010. 20

"All statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missourt, as amended, unless otherwisc
indicated.
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CSR 2085-10.060, and § 328.020, RSMo. On or about February 7, 2012, the Board sent a
violation notice to Licensec at California Cuts.

6. On or about March 9, 2012, the Board inspected California Cuts. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering
cosmelology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2085-10.060, and § 328.020, RSMo.

I1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

7. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 328.150.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

3. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 4 through 6 herein, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a barber establishment license pursuant to

§ 328.150.2(6), RSMo, which provides:

2. The board may cause a complaint 10 be {iled with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered his certificate of registration or 'mlhorm'
permit or license for any onc or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violation of, or assisiing or enabling any person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter;|.]

9. Regulation 1o 20 CSR 2085-10.010 states, in relevant part:
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(IY(A) Except as provided herein, any person desiring 10 open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missouri, whether a beauty shop, nail salon,
other cosmetology establishiment, shall submit an application to the board
at least thirty (30) days prior to the anticipated opening of the
establishment. The establishment license application shail be submitied
on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the biennial
establishment fee, and including the following information.}

10. Recgulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.060 states:

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 29, RSMo, no barber or cosmetology
establishment owner, manager, or proprictor shall permit any person who does not
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosmetologist in the establishmeni. No license or permit issued by the board shall
be posted in a licensed establishment unless the license or permit is current and
active, and the licensee or permit holder 1s an employee of the establishment or
holds a current an active renter establishment license issued by the board.

11. Section 328.020, RSMo, states, in relevant part:

It shall be unlawful for any person 1o practice the occupation of a barber in this
state, unless he or she shall have first obtained a license, as provided in this chapter.

12, As aresult of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 4 through 6 hercin, the
Board has cause 1o deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 328.150.2(6), RSMo.
3. As an alternative 10 refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038 RSMo, which provides:
Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional
registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse
to issue a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a
complaint  with the administrative hearing commission sceking
disciplinary action against a holder of license, the board, as an alternative

to refusing to issue a license, may, at s discretion, issue to an applicant a
license subject Lo probation.

14, The Board issues this Order in licu of denial of Licensee’s application for a barber
esiablishment Jicense. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure the

protection of the public.
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TERMS AND CONDITIONS

15. Based on the foregoing, California Cuts, Nancy Jackson, owner, is granted a
barber establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of THREE
(3) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation,
Licensee shall be entitled to operate as a barber establishment subject to the following terms and

conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
328 and 329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state
drug laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws.
“State” includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United
States, and the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home iclephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information,

C. During the probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensce’s cosmetology
operator and establishment licenses and shall timely pay all fecs required for licensure
and comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a
current and active state.

D. During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

[E. During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

F. Licensec shall submit writien reports io the Board on or before January 1 and July |
during cach vear of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and coaditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2013.

G. If, atany time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensec’s
licenses current or active under the provisions of Chapter 328, RSMo, or fails to keep
the Board advised of all current places of business and residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed
ot taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.
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F. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures
afforded it and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations identified herein,

I. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of thc Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph
without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as
required by Missouri law.

J.  Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State

Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102.

K. Any failure by Licensee 10 comply with any conditton of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

16.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available 1o it
concerning any violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 328,
329 or 324, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

17.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 328, 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 18th DAY OF September 2012,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Gy Q500 0N

Emily RS8urroll, Exccutive Director




