BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

GERWICK BURNETT,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
BARBER STUDENT LICENSE TO GERWICK BURNETT

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and .Barbef Examihers (the “Board™) hereby
issues its ORﬁER granting a PROBATIONARY BARBER STUDENT LICENSE, License
No. 2016011344 to Gerwick Burnett (“Burnett” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the provisions of §
324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Burnett may submit a written request to
the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to
issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O, Bbx 1557,
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request
for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived, Should Burnett file a

written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in

force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues

an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.




L.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.
| 2. - Onorabout April 4, 2016, Burnett applied for a Missouri barber student license to
enroll at Leonard’s Barber College, 4974 Natural Bridge, St. Louis, Missouri.

3. On his application, Burnett answered “yes” to the question “In the last ten (10)
years have you been adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, |
in a criminal prosecution under the laws of this state or any other state or of the United States,
whether or not sentencé was imposed?”

4, With his April 4, 2016 application, Burnett provided an explanation of his
criminal history. In his explanation, Burnett stated that he was arrested for Robbery in the 1%
degree in Washington State. Burnett explained that he was in need of money and made a bad |
decision. He statéd that he served three years in a correctional facility and will never forget what
he did and the harm it caused to his victim. Bumett concluded that going to barber school will
help hml to achieve his goal of bettering himself and his life.

5. A review of Burnett’s criminal history revealed:

a. On or about April 13, 201 1, Burnett pled guilty to one count of Robbery in the
~ First Degree, one count of Unlawful Possession of a Stolen Vehicle, and one éount of Possession
of a Sfol_en Firearm, in the Superior Court of Washington For Pierce County, case number 09-1-

04732-6. The Court sentenced Burnett to prison incarceration.




6.

1I.

CONCLUSIONS OF 7LAW

The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 328.150.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required putsuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7.

The Board has cause to deny or refuse Butnett’s application for a barber student

license pursuant to § 328.150.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: :

8.

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
piea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|. ]

As a result of Burnett’s pleas of guilty as detailed in paragraph 5 above, the Board

has cause to deny or refuse Burnett’s application for a barber student license pursuant to

§ 328.150.1, RSMo, and § 328.150.2(2), RSMo. -

9.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:




Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the
board, as an alternative to refusing fo issue a license, may, at its discrefion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Burnett’s application for a barber

student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure the protection

of the public.
1L
ORDER
11.  Based on the foregoing, Gerwick Burnett is granfed a barbér student license,

which is hereby‘ placed on PROBATION for the period during which he is enrolled in barber
school and receiviﬁg training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective date of this
Order. During the aforementioned probation, Gerwick Burnett shall be entitled to enroll as a
barber student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12. During the aforementioned probation, Gerwick Burnett, shall be entitled to enroll
as a barber student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
328, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.




C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order. :

D. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in pexson for 1ntelvlews w1th the
Board or its designee upon request.

E. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July |
during ecach year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2016.

F. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 328, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

(3. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

- H. Untess otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

I. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of dtsmphne set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 328,

RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.




14. The Board will ‘maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 328, 329, 610 and 324; RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS \\ DAY OF @@f\\ 2016.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

ot 00 R0

Emily R. Qarroll, Executive Director




