BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of )
)

TANYA DAWN BROWN, )
)

Applicant. )

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO TANYA DAWN BROWN

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. (2016029975) to Tanya Dawn Brown (“Brown” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the
provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Brown may submit a
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the
Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission,
P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-
day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Rrown file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall

remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing

Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

L All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



I.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
~ and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about July 28, 2016, Brown applied for a Missouri cosmetology student
license to enroll at Hyde Beauty Academy, 3151 Litton Road, Chillicothe, Missouri.

3. On her application, Brown answered “yes” to the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. In conjunction with her July 28, 2016 application, Brown provided a listing of her
criminal history. Brown stated that she had misdemeanor and felony convictions during the past
10 years, ranging from November of 2008, through April of 2015. _The most recent felony
conviction being in Camden County on April 24, 2015, for the possession of a controlled
substance and attempt to deliver a controlled substance to jail.

5. A review of Brown’s Missouri criminal history reveals:

a. On or about March 26, 2008, Brown pled guilty to the class C misdemeanor charge of
Assault 37 Degree — Pursuant To Subdivisions (3), (5), in the Circuit Court of Cedar
County, Missouri, case number 08CD-CR00053. The Court sentenced Brown to a fine

of $25.00.



b.

6.

On or about November 4, 2013, Brown pled guilty to the class C felony charge of
Possession Of Controlled Substance Except 35 Grams Or Less Of Marijuana and the
class A misdemeanor charge of Unlawful Use Of Drug Paraphernalia, in the Circuit
Court of Camden County, Missouri, case number 13CM-CR02140-01. The Court
sentenced Brown to 4 years’ incarceration with the Missouri Department of
Corrections on the felony charge and 120 days’ jail incarceration on the misdemeanor
charge, to run concurrent with the felony sentence.
On or about December 16, 2013, Brown pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor
charge of Possession Of Up To 35 Grams Marijuana, in the Circuit Court of Camden
County, Missouri, case number 13CM-CR01878-01. The Court sentenced Brown to 30
days’’ incarceration in the county jail.
On or about January 25, 2016, Brown pled guilty to the class C felony charge of
Possession Of Controlled Substance Except 35 Grams Or Less Of Marijuana and the
class C felony charge of Deliver/Attempt to Deliver/Poss/Deposit/Conceal Contrld
Substance at Corr Fac, City/Co Jail or Priv Prison/Jail, in the Circuit Court of
Camden County, Missouri, case number 15CM-CR00692-01. The Court sentenced
Brown to 6 years’ incarceration with the Missouri Department of Corrections on both
of the felony charges to run concurrent.

IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes




stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

% The Board has cause to deny or refuse Brown’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed].]

8. As a result of Brown’s criminal record as detailed in paragraph 5 a through d, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Brown’s application for a cosmetology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation.



10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Brown’s application for a
- cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

L.

ORDER
11.  Based on the foregoing, Tanya Dawn Brown is granted a cosmetology student

license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective
date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Tanya Dawn Brown shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Tanya Dawn Brown, shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

D. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.




E. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2017,

F. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

G. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any

required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

H. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

I Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14, The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 18" DAY OF August 2016.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

G o0 4

Emily R. Ghrroll, Executive Director




