BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER ENAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of Certified Article Number

71b0 3901 9844 5807 9801
SENDERS RECORD

JESSICA BLOCK,

Applicant,

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONAR -
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO JESSICA BLOCK

The Missourt State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiner (the “Board™)
hereby issues its ORDER graning a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
STUDENT LICENSE, License No. 2013000378 to Jessica Block, pursuant to the
provisions of § 324.038, RSMo. As set fourth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Block may submit
a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and
review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request
must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or
mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Adminisirative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1357, Truman State Office Building,
Room 640, Jefferson City, Mo. 63102-1357. If no written request for review is filed with

the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to scek

review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Biock file a writlen

request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in

force and elfect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission

issues an Order to the Contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board's hereby states:



FINDINGS OF FACT

I. The Board 1s an agency of the state of Missouri creaied and established
pursuant to § 329.015, RSMo,' for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and
supervision of the licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of

Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Jessica Block (“Applicant™) is a natural person residing at 11610 Highway
131, Wellingion, Missouri 64097. [
3. On or about April 25, 2006, Applicant pled guilty in the Ray County

Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 06RY-CR00154, 10 one count of class A
misdemeanor of Passing Bad Checks-Less than $500 for which Applicant was given a

fine.

4. On or about June 20, 2006, Applicant pled guil'ly in the Lafayette County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 06Lf-CR00274, to one count of class A
misdemeanor of Passing Bad Check-Less that $500 for which Applicant was given a
suspended imposition of sentence with one year probation. Probation was subsequently

revoked and Applicant was given a fine and one ycar probation.

5. On or abouwt May 3, 2010, Applicant pled guilty in the Lafayeite County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 10LF-CR00207-01, to one count of class C
felony of Possession of Controlled Substance Except 35 Grams of less or Marijuana and

one count of class C felony of Endangering the Welfare of Child in the first degree.

' Al stitutory references are to the Revised Statues of Missouri, as amended, unltess otherwise indicated,



Applicant was given a suspended imposition of sentence with three years probation.
Apphicant’s probation was later revoked on or about January 17, 2012, Applicant was
sentenced io seven years incarceration in the Missouri Department of Corrections with a
suspended execution of sentence, 120 days shock incarceration followed by five years

probation to run concurrent with sentence imposed in |1 1LF-CR00747-01.

6. On or about January 17, 2012, Applicant pled guilty in the Lafayette
County Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 11LF-CR00747-01, to one count of
class B felony of Dist/Del/Manf/Produce or Attempt to or possesses w/lntent to
Dist/Del/Manf/Produce a Controlled Substance. Applicant was sentenced to fifteen years
incarceration in the Missouri Department of Corrections with a suspended execution of
sentence, 120 days shock incarceration followed by five years probation to run

concurrent with sentence imposed in F0LF-CR00207-01.

7. On or about June 4, 2012, Applicant filed a Student Enroltment

Application with the Board sceking a cosmetology student license.
I

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant 1o

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certification of registration or authority,
permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any
combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board
shall notify the applicant in writing of the rcasons for the refusal and shall
advise the applicant of his right 10 file a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

9. The Board has cause 1o deny or refuse Appheant’s application for a

cosmetolegy student license pursuant to § 329.140.2. RSMo, which provides:



The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative
hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any
holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license
required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has
surrendered by this person’s certificate of registration or authority,

permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or
entered a plea of nolo contender, in a criminal prosecution under
the laws of any state or of the United States, for any offence
reasonably related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of
any profession licensed or regulated under this chapter, for any
offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or an
act of violence, or for any offense involving moral turptitude,

wheiher or not sentence was imposed(.)

10. As a result of Applicant’s actions as set fourth in paragraphs 3 through 6
above, the Board has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

1. As an alternative to refusing to 1ssuc a license, the Board may, at its
discretion, issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo. which

provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division ot professional
registration, including the division usclf when so empowered, may
refuse 1o issuc a license {or reasons which also serve as a basis for
filing a complaint with the administrative hearing commission
sceking disciptinary action against a holder of a license, the board,
as an alternative 1o refusing 1o issue a ficense, may, at is discretion,
issute to an applicant a hicense subject to probation.



12 ‘The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Applicant’s application for

a cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary (o

ensure the protection of the public.
111.
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Jessica Block is granted a cosmetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the
effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Jessica Block shall be

entitled to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.
Iv.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Jessica Block, Applicant, shall be entitled

to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of
Chapter 329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and
state drug laws, rules and regulations, and all other states territories of the United
States, and the ordinance of the political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of
Applicant’s current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the
3oard is writing within ien days (10) of any change in this information.

C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student
license granted hereby and shall umely pay all fees required for licensure and
comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a

current and active siate.



D. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with

o

H.

unannounced visits from the Board’s representatives 10 monitor compliance with
the terms and conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews
with the Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written requests to the Board on or before January 1 and
July 1 during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there
has been compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The firsi such
report shall be received by the Board on or before January 1, 2012.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s
address from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology
student license current or active under the provisions ef Chapier 329, RSMo, or
fails to keep the Board advised of all current places of residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shatl not be
deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

The Board retains jurisdiction 1o hold a hearing at any time to determine if a
violation of this Order as occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred,
may seck o amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action
at the discretion of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to
this paragraph without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before
the Board as provided by Chapter 536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or
other materials required o be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to:
Missourt State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, PO Box 1062,
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102,

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set fourth

herin constituies a violation of this Order.

" This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available o it

concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order,

Chapter 329, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder



The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 234 RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS SE DAY OFT<broyr , 2013,

MISSOURI BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

CRNTINTTNY

Emily R.céarroll, Executive Director






