BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

BROOKE BISHOP,

e N et et et

Applicam.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXANMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO BROOKI BISHOP

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™) hercby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETQLOGY STUDENT LIC‘Ea \SE,
License MNo. (2011026284) to Brooke Bishop, pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.
As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Bishop may submit a wrilten request to {he.f\dministrativc'
Hearing Commuission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated
student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission
within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be
addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O, Box 1557, Truman State Office
Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. 1f no written request for review is ﬁlcd
with the Administrative Hearing Commission ﬁ*iihin the 30-day period, the right to seek review

of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Bishop file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect

unless and/for until such time as the Administrative Flearing Conmmission issues an Order 1o the

conirarv,

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



[

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo Cum. Supp. 2010, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and superﬁision of the
licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329,
RSMo (as amended).

2, On or about July 6, 2007, Bishop pled guilty in Cass County Circuit Court, State
of Missourt, case number 06CA-CR0O1489-01, 1o the Class C Felony of Endangering Welfare of
Child First Degree, the Class A Misdemeanor Assault/Attemipt Assault on L/E, C/O, Efi), Hivy
Wkr, P& P (Physical Contact) Third Degree, and the Class A Misdemeanor of
Resisting/Interfering With Arrest, Detention Or Stop for which Bishop received a Suspended
Imposition of Sentence, five years supervised probation and 120 days Shock Incarceration.
Subsequently, on or about January 10, 2011, Bishop’s probation was revoked and she was
sentenced to seven years in the Missouri Department of Corrections.

3. On or about July 6, 2007, Bishop pled guilty in Cass County Circuit Court, in the
State of Missouri, case number 06CA-CR0270-01, to the Class D Felony of Property Damage in
the First Degree for which Bishop received a Suspended Impésiiion of Sentence, five yeafs
supervised probation and 120 days Shock Incarceration. Subsequently, on or about January 10,
2011, Bishop's probation was revoked and she was sentenced to seven years in the Missouri
Department of Corrections.

4, On ot about July 6, 2007, Bishop pled guilty in Cass County Cireuit Court, in ikmc
State of Missouri, case number 06CA-CR01572-01, to the Class C Fclony of Endangering

Weltare Of Child First Degree and two counts of the Class A Misdemeanor of Assauli Third



Degree — Pursuant 1o Subdivisions (1), (2), (4), (6) for which Bishop received a Suspended
Imposition of Sentence, five years supervised probation and 120 days Shock Incarceration.
Subsequently, on or about January 10, 2011, Bishop’s probation was revoked and she'was
sentenced to seven years on the Missouri Department of Corrections.

3. On or about July 20, 2011, Brooke Bishop applied for a Missouri cosmetology

student license.

1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has mithmity to deny or refuse a license application pﬁrsuam to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may reluse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
ticense required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated In subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaini with the administrative hearing. commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Bishop’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant 1o § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapler 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of

. registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: :

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a eriminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offensc reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which

(V%)



is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|[.]

8. As a result of Bishop's actions as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 4 above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Bishop’s application for a cosinctology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo,

9. As an alternative to refusing lo issuc a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse 10 issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
_hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

hoard, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Bishop’s application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

il
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Brooke Bishop is granted a cosmetology student license, which
is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which he is enrolled in cosmetology
school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5} years from the effective date of this
Order. During the aforementioned probation Brooke Bishop shall be entitled to enroll as a
cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

Iv.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Brooke Bishop, Applicant, shall be entitled to enroll as

a cosmetology student subject 1o the following terms and conditions:

4



2]

H.

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter

329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws, *State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the diseiplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requiremenis necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probalionary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon reguest.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January | and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthlully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2012.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology studemt license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken 1o satisfy any part of the
probationary period. '

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time 1o determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seck 10 amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuamt to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, docimentation, notices, or other
malerials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded 10: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order,

LA




This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of -this Order, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the
regulations promul gated thereunder.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS & DAY OF%%\5¥ L2011,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

S D oot

Ewmily R. Carroll, Executive Director




