BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Applirca-tion of

REBECCA ANN BENSON,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE'BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TQO REBECCA ANN BENSON

- The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
“License No. 2015006402 to Rebecca Ann Benson (“Benson” or “Applicant”), pursuént to the
provisions of § 32.4.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Benson may submit a.
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearinlg and review of the
Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the
Administrgtive Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
" Board, The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission,
P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If
no written request for review is filed with the Admhﬁstrativ‘é Hearing Commission within the 30-
day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Benson file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order

shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such fime as the Administrative Hearing

Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated,




L

KINDINGS OF FACT

L. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the .practice of barbering
and cosmetology in tiliS state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2, On or about December 2, 2014, Benson applied for a Missouri cosmetology
student license to enroll at Central College of Cosmetology, 690 Missouri Ave, Ste 3, St. Robett,
Missouri.

3. On her application, Benson answered “yes” to the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or an§ or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. In conjunction with her December 2, 2014 application, Benson provided an
explanation of her criminal history. In her explanation, Benson stated that in 2005, in Butts
County, Georgia, -she “was convicted of Aggravated Assault on an [police] ofﬁt:err and two
counts of Aggravated Fleeing and [Eluding].” She noted that she “took the police on a high
speed chase across two counties, resulting in two wrecked police cars. One injured officer and
[her] :arrest.” Benson noted further that she was “given 15 years;” that she did “5 years” and was
paroled in August of 2014, |

5. A review of Benson’s criminal history reveals that on or about August 10, 2006,
Benson entered into a negotiated plea of guilty on four of five counts upon which she was

charged, in the Superior Courl of Butts Cdunty, Georgia, case number 2006-R-119. Benson




received a sentence of ten years on the charge of Theft By Bringing Stolen Property Into The

State, five years on the charge of Fleeing And Atiempting To Elude, and twelve months on the

counts of Hit And Run and Reckless Driving. Benson was paroled/conditionally released from

incarceration on September 29, 2010, On August 8, 2014, Benson was discharged from

parole/conditional release.

6.

IL.

CONCILUSIONS OF LAW

The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Benson’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: *

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for.any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which

" is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed].]




8. As a result of Benson’s guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 5 above, the Board
has cause to deny or refiise Benson’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant to
§329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to pI'ObE;tiOIl, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within ot assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing _commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

16. | The Board issues this Order in lien of denial of Benson’s application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the pfotection of the public.

1L
' 11.  Based on the foregoing, Rebecca Ann Benson is granted a cosmetology student
' License, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for th-e period during which sheris enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving traiﬁing houts, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective
date of this Order. During fhe aforementioned probation, Rebecca Ann Benson shall be entitled
to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12. During the aforementioned probation, Rebecca Ann Benson, shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:




. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug taws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

. During the disciplinary perio&l, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
~ during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2015.

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period. :

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the

‘Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and. opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo. '

. Unless otherwise specified Ey the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitied to the Board shall be forwarded to:  Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Exammers P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of dlsmphne st forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.



13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14, The Boafd will maintain this Order as an open, publié record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and-324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 27th DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2015.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

@nM . Geened

Emily R, Carroll, Executive Director




