BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

BEAUTY CAFE,
NICOLE MADISON, owner,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
BEAUTY CAFE, NICOLE MADISON, OWNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board™)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE, License No. 2012008672, to Beauty Café, Nicole Madison,
owner (hereafier, “Licensee”), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo." As set forth in §
324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing
Commission seeking a heanng and review of the Board’s decision o issue a probated license.
Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a written request for review of this Order, the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time

as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:
L

FINDINGS OF FACT

i The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursiant”
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering-
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Licensee holds a cosmetology operator license issued by the Board, License no.
114774. Licensee’s operator license was not at all times current and active. Licensee’s operator
license is now current and active as of January 11, 2012.

3. On or about January 25, 2012, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Registration with the Board seeking licensure as a master, commercial cosmetology
establishment under the name of Beauty Café, Nicole Madison, owner, to be located at 306 Rue
Street, Florissant, Missouri 63031. Initial application was received April 8, 2011 and was
rejected for additional documents.

4, On or about May 26, 2010, the Board inspected Beauty Cafe. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: no establishment license for 306 Rue Street,
Florissant, Missouri 63031 in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010 and cosmetology operator
license for Nicole Madison not current in violation of 20 CSR 2085-7.040. A violation notice
was sent June 28, 2010.

3, On or about July 15, 2010, the Board inspected Beauty Cafe. The Board

inspector discovered the following licensure issues: no establishment license for 306 Rue Street,

' All statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missourt, as amended, unless otherwise
indicated.



Florissant, Missouri 63031 in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010 and cosmetology operator
license for Nicole Madison not current in violation of 20 CSR 2085-7.040. A violation notice
was seit September 23, 2010,

6. On or about Qctober 29, 2010, the Board inspected Beauty Cafe. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: no establishment license for 306 Rue Street,
Florissant, Missouri 63031 in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010 and Brittanie McKeever was
present and providing services without a Missouri cosmetology operator license in violation of
20 CSR 2085-10.060. A violation notice was sent January 27, 2011.

7. On or about February 17, 2011, the Board inspected Beauly Cafe, The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: no establishment license for 306 Rue Street,
Florissant, Missouri 63031 in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10. A violation notice was sent June 28,
2010.

8. On or about November 3, 2011, the Board inspected Beauty Cafe. The Board
inspector discovered the following licensure issues: no establishment license for 306 Rue Street,
Florissant, Missouri 63031 in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010 and cosmeltology operator

license for Nicole Madison not current in violation of 20 CSR 2085-7.040.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAWY

9. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursﬁanl to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant's right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as
provided by chapier 621, RSMo.



10.  As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 3 and 8 herein, the Board has
cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a cosmetology establishment license pursuant

to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo, which provide:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violauon of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter.
1. As a result of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 3 and 8 herein, the
Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo.
12. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo 2000, which provides:
Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of license, the
board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation.
13. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Licensee’s application for a
cosmetology establishment license. The Board has determined that this Order 15 necessary to
ensure the protection of the public.

II.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

14, Based on the foregoing, Beauty Café, Nicole Madison, owner, is granted a

cosmetology establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of



THREE (3) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation

disciplinary period, Licensee shall be entitled to operate as a cosmetology establishment subject

to the following terms and conditions:

A.

H.

During the disciplinary pertod, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State”
includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and
the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensee’s cosmetology
establishment license granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for
licensure and comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said
license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

Licensee shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January | and July |
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensee’s
cosmetology establishment license current or active under the provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, or fails 1o keep the Board advised of all current places of business and
residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown
whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary
period.

In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures
afforded it and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations identified herein.



15.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph
without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as
required by Missouri law.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitied to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102,

Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or resirict the remedies available (o it

concerning any violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Ordef, Chapters 329 or

324, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

i6.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS \D DAY OF March 2012.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

INTA TR

Emily R. Cairoll, Executive Director




