BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

KRISTY BALES,

Apphicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO KRISTY BALES

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2013039176 to Kristy Bales (“Bales” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the provisions of
§ 324.038, RSMo. As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Bales may submit a written request to the
Administrative Hearing Commission secking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to
issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative
Hearing Commissionlwithin 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The
written request shoLtld be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Coﬁmission, P.O. Box 1557;
Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. 1f no written request
for review 15 filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Bales file a

written request for review of this Order. the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in

force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues

an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



I

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo,' for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of
barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed
occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about Apnl 26, 2013, Kristy Bales applied for a cosmetology student

. license to enroll at Vandalia Institute of Cosmetology, 1101 E. Hwy 54, Vandalia, Missouri.

3. On her application, Bales answered “yes” to the question “In the last ten (10)
years have you been adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
in a criminal prosecution under the laws of this state or any other state or of the United States,
whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, Upon further inquiry by the Board, Bales provided a statement dated April 4,
2013, regarding her answer of “yes” to the question regarding criminal history. Bales stated that
in 2010 she had been placed on probation for ten counts of forgery and was arrested for second
degree assault. Bales also mentioned a misdemeanor warrant for forgery, a “couple”
misdemeanor shoplifting charges, and a misdemeanor “DWIL.” In a statement dated August 7,
2013, regarding her answer of “yes” to the question regarding criminal history, Bales further
stated that she had a violent crime of the class C felony of second degree assault which arose
from a physical struggle between Bales and her victim over a cellular telephone that led to Bales
wielding a knife and her victim wielding a chair. Bales further stated “I have been a recovering

addict for 3 years now. | was under the influence when [ committed my crime.”

LAl statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.




3. A review of Bales’ Missouri criminal history reveals:

a. On or about March 11, 2008, Bales pled guilty to the class B misdemeanor of
DWI — Drug Intoxication in the Circuit Court of St. Francois County, Missouri in
case number 07D7-CR00081. The Court sentenced Bales to 70 days in jail but
suspended the execution of the sentence and placed Bales on two years of
supervised probation. Such probation was later revoked.

b. On or about May 21, 2010, Bales pled guilty to 10 counts of the class C felony of
forgery in the Circuit Court of St. Francois County, Missouri in case number
10SF-CR00278-01. The Court suspended imposition of sentence and placed
Bales on five years of supervised probation. Such probation was later revoked.

c. On or about February 10, 2011, Bales pled guilty to one count of the class ¢
felony of Assault — Second Degree in the Circuit Court of St. Francois, Missouri
in case number 10SF-CR01708-01. The Court sentenced Bales to three years of
incarceration in the Missouri Department of Corrections.

II.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the adminisirative heaning commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Bales’ application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:



The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has swrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|.]

8. As a result of Bales’ actions as set forth in paragraphs 3 through 5 above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Bales’ application for a cosmetology student license pursuant
t0 § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant o § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Bales’ application for a

cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure

the protection of the public.



[1L.
ORDER

11. Based on the foregoing, Kristy Bales is granted a cosmetology student license,

which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Kristy Bales shall be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

v,

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12. During the aforementioned probation, Kristy Bales shall be entitled to enroll as a

cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in wnting
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives o monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

Durmg the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been



compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2014.

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

H. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any

required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

I Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102. :

J. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 32,
RSMo, or the regulations promuigated thereunder.

14.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS g\_k\ DAY OF OCTOBER, 2013.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

SN

Emily Ca_rroll)fxecutive Director




