BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matier of the Application of

ASTATIC SALON & SPA,
BOBBI HOUSTON, owner,

o et Nt e Mg Nr?

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
ASTATIC SALON & SPA, BOBBI HOUSTON, OWNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereatter, the “Board™)
hereby issues  its  ORDER  granting a2 PROBATIONARY  COSMETOLOGY
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE, License No. 2012009978, to A Static Salon & Spa, Bobbi
Houston, owner (hereafter, “Licensee™), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.' As set
forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative
Hearing Commission secking a hearing and review of the Board's decision 1o issuc a probated
license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within
30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be
addressed to the Admimstrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1337, Truman Siate Oftice
Building, Room 640, Jetferson City, MO 63102-1337. I no written request for review is filed
with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the night 1o seck revicw

of the Board's decision shall be considered waived, Should Licensce filc a written request {or

review ol this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order_shall remain_in force and cifect

" All statatory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missouri. as amended, unless otherwise
indicated.



unless and/or until such tinte as the Admuinistrative Hearing Comimission issues an Order o the

contrary.

Based upon the forcgoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

l. The Board is an agency of the state of Missoun created and established pursuant
1o § 329.015, RSMo, for the purposc of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions ol Chapters 328 and 329, RSiMo.

2. Licensee is a licensed as a cosmetologist, license number 2006024510,
l.icensee’s cosmetology operator license was at all times relevant herein, and is now current and
active.

3. Licensee has been oftering cosmeiology services out off A Static Salon & Spa,
located at 501 13™ Street, Monett, Missouri 65708 without an establishment license.

4. On or about November 19, 2011, the Board inspected A Static Salon & Spa. The
Board inspector discovered the following licensure issues, Licensee was present and offering
cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2083-10.010, 20
CSR 2083-10.060, and § 329.030, RSMo. On or about December 7, 2011, the Board sent a
violation notice to Licensec at A Static Salon & Spa.

5. On or about December 22, 2011, the Board inspected A Static Salon & Spa. The
Bourd inspecior discovered the following licensure issues, Licensec was present and offering
cosmetology services without an establishment license in vielation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20

CSR 2085-10.060, and § 329.030. RSMo.



6. On or about February 29, 2012, the Board inspected A Static Salon & Spa. The

Board inspector discovered the following licensure issucs, Licensec was present and offering

cosmetology services without an establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20
CSR 2083-10.060, and § 329.030. RSMo. |
1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

7. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse o issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuani to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subscciion 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the
applicant’s night to file a complaint with the administrative hearing comnussion as
provided by chapier 621, RSMo.

S. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 4 through 6 herein, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Licensce's application for a cosmetology cstablishment license

pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo, which provide:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
ol registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has faled 10 renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(6} Violation of, or assisting or e¢nabling anv person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter;

9. Regulation 1o 20 CSR 2083-10.010 states, in refevant part:
(1XA) Except as provided herein, any person desiring to open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missourt, whether a beauty shop, nail salon,
other cosmetology establishment, shall submit an application to the board
at least thiny (30} days prior to the anticipated opening ol the
estabhishment.  The establishment license application shall be submitted

(W)



|2

on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the biennial
establishiment fee, and including the following information:{.]

Regulation to 20 CSR 2085-10.0060 states, in relevant part:

{1} Puwrsuant to Chapters 328 and 29, RSMo, no barber or cosmetology
establishment owner, manager, or proprietor shall permit any person who does not
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosmetologist in the cstablishment. No license or permit issued by the board shall
be posted in a licensed establishment unless the license or permit is current and
active, and the licensee or permit holder is an employee of the establishment or
holds a current an active renter cstablishment license 1ssued by the board.

Sccuion 329.00, RSMo, states, n relevant part:

It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the occupation of
cosmetology or to operate an cstablishment or school of cosmetology, unless such
person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter,

As a result of the licensure violations set forth 10 paragraphs 4 through 6 herein, the

Board has cause 1o deny Licensee’s application for hicensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6),

RSMo.

i3.

As an alternative to refusing o 1ssue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

1ssuc a license subject 1o probation, pursuant to § 324.038 RSMo, which provides:

4.

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional
registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse
to issuc a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a
complaint  with the adminisirative  hearing  commission  sccking
disciplinary action against a holder of license, the bourd, as an altemative
to refusing to issuc a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a
license subject to probation.

The Board issues this Order in liew of denial of Licensee’s application for a

cosmetology establishment license. The Board has determined that this Order s

necessary (o ensure the protection of the public.

t1.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS




15. Based on the foregoing, A Static Salon & Spa, Bobbi Houston, owner, is granted
a cosmetology establishment hicense, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a
period of THREE (3) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the
aforementioned probation, Licensee shall be entitled 1o operate as a cosmetology
establishment subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and stote drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State™
includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and
the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
current work and home telephone numbers.  Licensce shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

C. During ihe probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensec’s cosmetology
establishment hcense granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for
licensure and comply with all other Board requirements nceessary to maintain said
license in a current and active state.

D. During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monilor comphance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

2. During the probationary period, Licensce shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

F. Licensce shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012,

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensce ceases to nauintain Licensec’s
cosmetology establishment license current or active under the provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of all current places of business and
residence, the ume of such absence, unlicensed or inacuve status, or unknown
whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary
period.

H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may. in its discretion, pursuc any lawful remedies or procedures



16.

afforded 1t and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal
actions or remedies concerning the allegations ideniified herein.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuvant to this paragraph
without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as
requared by Missourt law.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentiation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmectology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missour: 65102,

Any failure by Licensce to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Ovder.

This Order does not bind the Board or resirict the remedies available 1o it

concerning any violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters

329 or 324, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thercunder.

17.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE 'I'I-IISQ‘H\ DAY OF March 2012,

MISSOURI! STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

LoD Uyl

Emily R. Car!, Exceutive Dircctor




