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Information relating to licensure as a chiropractic physician in Missouri includes the following --- 
 Application for Licensure 
 Verification of Licensure in another state [if licensed as a chiropractor in another state(s)] 
 Missouri State Board of Chiropractic Examiners law and regulations (available online at 

pr.mo.gov/chiropractors click on the icons “Regulations” and “Statutes” or contact board office for printed 
version) 

 Information regarding sending National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) http://www.nbce.org test 
results to state board 

 If an applicant is interested in certification in MTAA (acupuncture) – An applicant must complete at least 
100 hours of credit in the use and administration of meridian therapy/acupressure/acupuncture that has 
been approved by the State Board. Contact the board office or access the application form for MTAA 
certification online, 

 Application for Insurance Consultant – An applicant must complete at least 100 hours of postgraduate 
credit in insurance claims consulting in a course of study approved by the State Board to apply. Contact the 
board office or access the application form for MTAA certification online, 
 

An applicant that has never been licensed in another state must pass Part I, II, III, Physiotherapy, and Part IV 
of the national exams administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.  All applicants must pass 
the open book jurisprudence examination of the law and regulations for licensure as a chiropractic physician in 
Missouri.   All applicants for licensure are required to submit to a background check.  Please see instructions 
for fingerprinting in the section Background Check. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

All applications must be typewritten or printed in BLACK ink.  Applications using a different color ink or written 
illegibly will be returned with a new application form to complete.   The application fee is $200.  A check must 
be made payable to the Missouri State Board of Chiropractic Examiners and accompany the application when 
submitted to the Board.  All fees are non-refundable. The fingerprint fee is paid to the statewide vendor 
providing digital fingerprinting.  For additional information regarding fingerprinting see detail at the end of these 
instructions.  

SECTION I 

1. Questions 1 through 7 – complete all areas.  Do not use initials or nicknames on the application.  If you 
are a married female candidate, place your maiden name as the maiden name or as the last name, but do not 
indicate it as both.   If you have no middle name, indicate this by placing “NMN” in the place where this 
information is requested.  If you have an initial for first or middle name place the initial in the correct place and 
add the “ONLY”.  Use your complete legal signature.  Do not print your name where the signature is indicated.  
The applicant’s social security number is required as stated in the social security number disclosure notice.    
Question number 7 – if applicable; indicate where you will be practicing upon licensure. 

 
2.  Questions 8, 9 and 10 are for demographic information only and are voluntary. 
 
3. Questions 11 and 11A.  – The applicant must indicate if applying for licensure by examination or 
reciprocity.   Applicants applying for licensure by reciprocity must list states in which applicant is licensed as a 
chiropractic physician or any other profession requiring a state license, and have each state submit the 
verification of licensure form directly to the Board office.  The State Board compares the education and 
examination requirements of the state of original licensure as a chiropractor with Missouri requirements. 
Applicants are discouraged from filing an application with the Board for licensure by reciprocity, unless the 
applicant is confident that he/she meets these requirements. 
 
4. Questions 12a through 12j – All questions must be answered.  If an applicant answers yes to any of the 
questions, a written explanation of the arrest or conviction and all supporting documentation such as court 
documents and police reports must accompany the application. 
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5. Questions 12k through 12m – An applicant qualifying for certification in meridian 
therapy/acupressure/acupuncture and/or insurance consulting must complete the appropriate application, 
provide a transcript of obtaining the 100 hours training directly from the college or board approved program of 
the 100 hours of certification, and submit the fee of $100 to the Board to obtain certification.  Applicants 
qualifying to perform manipulation under anesthesia must also provide a transcript of not less than 24 hours 
didactic academic hours and six proctored MUA procedure from the school or program. 

SECTION II 

6. Question 13 – List all preceptorship experience if applicable. 

SECTION III 

7. Question 14 and 14a – Education – All applicants must provide transcripts from the pre-professional 
colleges for which credits were used to enter a chiropractic college sent directly from the institution to the 
Board office.   If you are a graduate from a chiropractic college, have the college transcript(s) sent directly to 
the Board office.  If an applicant is applying prior to the completion of the chiropractic degree, a license will not 
be issued until the State Board receives an official transcript from the chiropractic college that includes the date 
the degree was awarded. 

SECTION IV 

8. Examination Information – All applicants must have National Board transcripts (Parts I, II, III, 
Physiotherapy and Part IV) sent directly to the Board office.  If the state from which an applicant applying for 
licensure by reciprocity does allow equivalent reciprocal licensing of Missouri licensees, or if that state’s 
requirements for licensure are not equivalent with Missouri’s, the State Board may, in its discretion, require the 
applicant to successfully complete the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractors (SPEC) administered by 
the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.    

SECTION V 

9. Applicants Oath – All applicants must read and complete the applicant’s oath.  All applicants must sign 
and have the application notarized.   Send with the application one (1) photograph of the applicant, 
approximately 2” x 2”, front view of head and shoulders taken within the last six (6) months.  POLAROID 
pictures are NOT acceptable.   
 
If you have any questions regarding licensure in Missouri, please do not hesitate to contact the Board office at 
573/751-2104 or send an email to chiropractic@pr.mo.gov 
 
BACKGROUND CHECK 
Section 43.543 RSMo of Missouri law authorizes state agencies to conduct a background check with the 
Missouri State Highway Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  
 
Missouri’s vendor for digital fingerprinting is 3M Cogent with sites throughout the state. Payment may be made 
at the fingerprinting site (money order, cashier’s check, check, or cash) or at the time of online registration 
(credit or debit card). NOTE:  The fingerprint locations do not accept credit or debit card payments and on-site 
payment must be made by check, money order, or cash. If cash is paid, an applicant must have the exact 
amount as the vendor may not have change available.  
 
 The first step in the background check process is to access the Missouri Automated Criminal History 

Site (MACHS) at www.machs.mo.gov to register online. MACHS will take an applicant through the 
registration steps.  If an applicant does not have internet access, s/he can call 877/862-2425 and a 
representative will make the online registration.  REMEMBER:  The registration process is to be 
completed before calling or visiting a 3M Cogent fingerprint location. 

 
 An applicant must have the four digit registration number. For chiropractors, this registration 

number is 0011.  The registration number ties all agency/licensure entity indentifying information 
together to insure the background check response is returned to the correct licensing entity. The 
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MACHS website collects all demographic data required to complete a fingerprint based background 
check. 
 

 An applicant chooses a fingerprint location nearest to them from a map that is included as part of the 
MACHs registration process. The applicant then proceeds to the location during the site’s posted hours 
of operation. NOTE: Waiting time cannot be estimated, since the volume varies per location. Please 
allow adequate time to be printed, especially if you are in a major metro area. 
 

 Once the registration process is complete, an applicant will receive a MACHS Transaction Control 
Number (TCN) that is used to track the appointment. An applicant must present the transaction control 
number document and government issued photo identification at the fingerprinting site. Acceptable 
Identification includes a driver’s license, state issued ID, or passport.  
 

At the fingerprinting appointment, applicants will be fingerprinted and have their photos taken. An applicant can 
mail a copy of the TCN to the licensure office to verify registration. If a site issues a receipt for the 
fingerprinting, a copy of that receipt can be sent to the licensure office. This information is placed in the 
applicant’s file to indicate the background check is in process. The results of the fingerprinting will be sent 
directly to the licensure office. 
 
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT UNTIL THE RESULTS OF THE BACKGROUND CHECK ARE RECEIVED BY 
THE STATE BOARD, A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED. 

 
 


